The Outermost Regions - European regions of assets and opportunities

Additional tools

Available languages : English Spanish French Portuguese
Period : 2007-2013
Date : 01/06/2012

The European Union currently has eight Outermost Regions (ORs), which form an integral part of EU territory. These are: Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Saint Martin, Réunion (France); the Canary Islands (Spain) and the Azores and Madeira (Portugal). Unlike the Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs), which have associate status with their respective Member States (Denmark, France, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom), the Outermost Regions must adhere in full to the rights and obligations arising from the European Treaties.

More information :

Regional policy & outermost regions