The Outermost Regions European regions of assets and opportunities

Additional tools

Available languages : English Spanish French Portuguese
Period : 2007-2013
Date : 03/05/2010

The Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (TFEU) recognises by
name, in Articles 349 and 355, Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Martinique, Réunion, Saint Barthélemy, Saint Martin, the Azores, Madeira and the Canary Islands as regions forming an integral part of the European Union with the status of Outermost Regions (ORs).

The status of OR recognises the specific characteristics of these regions which
set them apart from the rest of the EU and have an impact on their economic
development. These characteristics include factors such as their remoteness, insularity, difficult topography and climate and economic dependence on a small number of products (sugar, bananas, etc.). However, these regions also have major assets and the potential not only to contribute to their own development, but also to that of Europe as a whole. They can act as excellent laboratories for studying and combating the effects of climate change, they have exceptional biodiversity and marine ecosystems, great potential for the development of renewable energies and leading-edge agri-environmental research, and so on.

More information :

Regional policy & outermost regions