The European Union Strategy for the Baltic Sea Region - background and analysis

Additional tools

Available languages : English
Period : 2007-2013
Date : 03/05/2010

Eight of the nine states bordering the Baltic Sea are members of the European Union. The introduction of Community rules, and the opportunities created by Community instruments and policies (e.g. Cohesion Policy, the strategy for sustainable development, environmental policy, the integrated maritime policy, the internal market and the Lisbon Agenda) have opened important new possibilities for a more effective co-ordination of activities, thus delivering higher standards of living for the citizens of these Member States. However, even with good levels of international and interregional communication and co-operation, full advantage of the new opportunities that EU membership provides has not yet been taken and the challenges facing the region have not yet been adequately addressed.


More information :

Baltic Sea Strategy