Interreg III B - CADSES


Additional tools


The European Commission contributes actively to the development of transnational co-operation by part-financing the “Interreg III B Neighbourhood” programme for the Central Adriatic Danubian South-Eastern European Space (CADSES). The participating areas include: Austria, Greece, the Eastern and Southern Länder of Germany and the Eastern regions of Italy, Poland, Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, and Slovenia in the European Union, three candidate countries Bulgaria,  Romania and Croatia, and six  non-Member States (Bosnia-Herzegovina, Serbia and Montenegro, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM), Albania, Moldavia and Ukraine. Structural Fund assistance amounts to EUR 153.75  million. Together with the contributions from other sources, including the PHARE programme, CARDS and Tacis CBC (all funding now integrated within the programme as part of the Neighbourhood approach), it is estimated that total resources of EUR 280 million will be available 

1. Action Priorities

Priority 1: Promoting spatial development approaches and actions for social and economic cohesion. Key actions are aimed at: intensifying transnational co-operation between spatial planning actors; strengthening urban economies, infrastructure and social systems; promoting urban restructuring; enhancing endogenous development and promoting diversification in rural or mountainous areas; and developing strategies to cope with the spatial impact of immigration.

Priority 2: Efficient and sustainable transport systems and access to the information society. This priority covers the promotion of an efficient, multi-modal and sustainable transport system in the CADSES area and the development of the potential offered by the information society.

Priority 3: Promotion and management of landscape and natural and cultural heritage. This priority focuses on developing common solutions and the production of best practice.

Priority 4: Environment protection, resource management and risk prevention. Prevention of natural and man made disasters and risk management as well as projects focusing on integrated water management and the prevention of floods make up the key actions of this priority. This could concern the Danubian area.

Priority 5: Technical Assistance.

2. Description of the eligible areas

The programme covers an area from the Baltic Sea (Germany and Poland) to the Mediterranean, through Austria, the Adriatic, Italy and the Balkans, down to Greece, touching three candidate countries and six  non-member states.

At least six development areas can be distinguished; the Central European Interaction Area, the Danubian Co-operation zone, the Black Sea Co-operation Area, the Adriatic-Ionian Sea Region, the area of the Stability Pact (Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia and Montenegro, FYROM and Albania) and the Carpathian Development Region.

3. Management and contact details

Italy assumes the functions of the common managing and paying authority and is assisted by a Joint Technical Secretariat (JTS) in Dresden (Germany):


Financial and Technical information

Interreg III B - CADSES

Intervention Type

Community Initiative Program

CCI no


Number of decision


Final approval date


Breakdown of finances by priority axis

Priority Axis EU Investment National Public Contribution Total Public Contribution
1 Promoting spatial development approaches and actions for social and economic cohesion 0 0 96 248 093
2 Efficient and sustainable transport systems and access to the information society 0 0 50 229 449
3 Promotion and management of landscape, natural and cultural heritage 0 0 47 241 963
4 Environment protection, resource management and risk prevention 0 0 66 109 579
999 Technical Assistance 0 0 19 202 952
Total 0 0 279 032 036

Financial Breakdown by Funds

EU Investment ERDF
Total: 161 239 712 161 239 712
100,00% 100%