Which regions are affected?

The whole European Union is covered by one or several objectives of the cohesion policy. To determine geographic eligibility, the Commission bases its decision on statistical data. Europe is divided into various groups of regions corresponding to the classification known by the acronym NUTS (common nomenclature of territorial units for statistics)

Phase-out assistance systems have been set up for regions which benefited from much financial assistance before the enlargement, in order to avoid drastic changes between two programming periods.

Cohesion Fund

Member States whose GNI (Gross National Income) is lower than 90% of the EU average can benefit from cohesion fund: that is all the regions of the following countries:

Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, and Slovakia

A phasing-out system is granted to Member States which would have been eligible for the Cohesion Fund if the threshold had stayed at 90% of the GNI average of the EU at 15 and not at 25. This only concerns Spain.

Convergence objective

Regions at level 2 of the NUTS classification whose GDP (Gross Domestic Product) per inhabitant is less than 75% of the Community average are eligible for funding under the Convergence objective.

  • Bulgaria: the whole territory
  • Czech Republic: Střední Čechy, Jihozápad, Severozápad, Severovýchod, Jihovýchod, Střední Morava, Moravskoslezsko
  • Germany: Brandenburg-Nordost, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Chemnitz, Dresden, Dessau, Magdeburg, Thüringen
  • Estonia: the whole territory
  • Greece: Anatoliki Makedonia, Thraki, Thessalia, Ipeiros, Ionia Nisia, Dytiki Ellada, Peloponnisos, Voreio Aigaio, Kriti
  • Spain: Andalucía, Castilla-La Mancha, Extremadura, Galicia
  • France: Guadeloupe, Guyane, Martinique, Réunion
  • Hungary: Közép-Dunántúl, Nyugat-Dunántúl, Dél-Dunántúl, Észak-Magyarország, Észak-Alföld, Dél-Alföld
  • Italy: Calabria, Campania, Puglia, Sicilia
  • Latvia: the whole territory
  • Lithuania: the whole territory
  • Malta: the whole island
  • Poland: the whole territory
  • Portugal: Norte, Centro, Alentejo, Região Autónoma dos Açores
  • Romania: the whole territory
  • Slovenia: the whole territory
  • Slovakia: Západné Slovensko, Stredné Slovensko, Východné Slovensko
  • United Kingdom: Cornwall and Isles of Scilly, West Wales and the Valleys

A phasing-out system is granted to those regions which would have been eligible for funding under the Convergence objective if the threshold of 75% of GDP had been calculated for the EU at 15 and not at 25:

  • Belgium: Province du Hainaut
  • Germany: Brandenburg-Südwest, Lüneburg, Leipzig, Halle
  • Greece: Kentriki Makedonia, Dytiki Makedonia, Attiki
  • Spain: Ciudad Autónoma de Ceuta, Ciudad Autónoma de Melilla, Principado de Asturias, Región de Murcia
  • Austria: Burgenland
  • Portugal: Algarve
  • Italy: Basilicata
  • United Kingdom: Highlands and Islands

Regional competitiveness and employment objective

All regions which are not covered by the Convergence objective or by the transitional assistance (NUTS 1 or NUTS 2 regions depending on the Member States) are eligible for funding under the competitiveness and employment objective.

A phasing-in system is granted until 2013 to NUTS 2 regions which were covered by the former Objective 1 but whose GDP exceeds 75% of the average GDP of the EU-15.

Regions eligible for transitional assistance under the Competitiveness and Employment objective:

Regions eligible for transitional assistance under the Competitiveness and Employment objective:

  • Éire-Ireland: Border, Midland and Western
  • Greece: Sterea Ellada, Notio Aigaio
  • Spain: Canarias, Castilla y León, Comunidad Valenciana
  • Italy: Sardegna
  • Cyprus: tout le territoire
  • Hungary: Közép-Magyarország
  • Portugal: Região Autónoma da Madeira
  • Finland: Itä-Suomi
  • United Kingdom: Merseyside, South Yorkshire

See the map of Europe of the regions covered in 2007-2013 by the Convergence and Regional Competitiveness and Employment objective

European territorial cooperation objective