IMPORTANT LEGAL NOTICE - The information on this site is subject to adisclaimerand acopyright notice
  European Commission > Regional Policy > Interreg III

Newsroom Newsroom Commissioner Debate Issues Directorate General

Interreg III
What's new?
The strands A, B, C and the programmes
Who's who?
Frequently asked questions
External policy instruments
Interreg II
Press Releases
Programmes' websites
  Contact us
  What's new ?


Glossary | Search | Contact | Mailing listes

Interreg IIIA: Cross-border cooperation



overview map

This overview map
leads you to each geographic zone in Europe by clicking on the blue squares.

While you have entered a zone, you can use the below navigation image to view the other zones by clicking on the arrows or return to the overview map by clicking
on the bullet.
Navigation image

Cross-border cooperation between adjacent regions aims to develop cross-border social and economic centres through common development strategies.

Eligible areas

See the map i_pdf of regions and areas where interreg III A projects may be developed

Areas eligible under interreg III strand A are:

  • All NUTS III areas situated along the internal and external land borders of the European Union
  • Certain NUTS III maritime areas

In some cases, NUTS III areas adjacent to the areas mentioned above may also be eligible for funding. This is also true for areas which are not classed as NUTS III, but which are enclosed within a region with NUTS III areas that lie along a border or in a region where such areas adjoin others running along the borders. In both cases, eligibility for funding is granted, provided they do not account for more than 20% of the total spending for the Interreg programme concerned.


Priorities for action

  • Promotion of urban, rural and costal development
  • Strengthening the spirit of enterprise
  • Developing small and medium-sized enterprises, including those in the tourism sector
  • Developing local employment initiatives
  • Assistance for labour market integration and social inclusion
  • Initiatives for encouraging shared use of human resources, and facilities for research and development, education, culture, communication, health and civil protection
  • Measures for environmental protection, improving energy efficiency and renewable energy sources
  • Improving transport, information and communication networks and services, water and energy systems
  • Increasing cooperation in legal and administrative areas
  • Increasing human and institutional potential for cross-border cooperation

Click here to view the Commission's Guidelines for interreg III



Last modified on

North zone South east zone Middle zone South west zone