Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance (IPA)

From January 2007 onwards, the Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance (IPA) replaces a series of European Union programmes and financial instruments for candidate countries or potential candidate countries, namely PHARE, PHARE CBC, ISPA, SAPARD, CARDS and the financial instrument for Turkey.

The IPA is made up of five different components:

  1. Assistance for transition and institution building;
  2. Cross-border cooperation (with EU Member States and other countries eligible for IPA);
  3. Regional development (transport, environment, regional and economic development);
  4. Human resources (strengthening human capital and combating exclusion);
  5. Rural development.

The IPA beneficiary countries are divided into two categories:

  • EU candidate countries (Croatia, Turkey and the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia) are eligible for all five components of IPA;
  • Potential candidate countries in the Western Balkans (Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Montenegro, Serbia, and Kosovo under UN Security Council Resolution 1244/99) are eligible only for the first two components.

map Croatia Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Turkey

Last modified on: