European Territorial Co-operation

Interregional co-operation

Interregional cooperation works at pan-European level, covering all EU-27 Member States, and more. It builds networks to develop good practice and facilitate the exchange and transfer of experience by successful regions. It showcases what regions do well, to the benefit of those still investing.

The INTERREG IV C programme enables EU regions to work together and is structured around two priorities, which address: innovation and the knowledge economy, and environment and risk prevention.
ERDF contribution: €321 million.
Countries: EU-27, Norway and Switzerland.
3 networking programmes:

The URBACT II programme brings together actors at local and regional level to exchange experience and to facilitate learning on urban policy themes. The programme supports thematic networks and working groups between cities, conferences and the development of tools.
ERDF contribution: €53 million.
Countries: EU-27, Norway and Switzerland.

The "European Spatial Planning Observation Network" (ESPON) provides scientific information for the development of regions and larger territories through applied research, analysis and tools.
ERDF contribution: €34 million.
Countries: EU-27, Norway, Switzerland, Iceland and Liechtenstein.

The INTERACT II programme provides training, services and tools to programme managers and administrators of co-operation programmes in order to improve the management of these programmes.
Countries: EU-27,
ERDF contribution: €34 million.

Jointly with the URBACT II programme, the INTERREG IVC programme is the main vehicle for the EU initiative ‘Regions for Economic Change’ which is designed to support regional and urban networks in developing and spreading best practice in economic modernisation. The most innovative projects can compete for the annual RegioStars award.