European Territorial Co-operation



Cohesion policy encourages regions and cities from different EU Member States to work together and learn from each other through joint programmes, projects and networks. In the period 2007-13 the European Territorial Co-operation objective (formerly the INTERREG Community Initiative) covers three types of programmes:

The European Territorial Co-operation objective is financed by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and supports cross-border, transnational and interregional co-operation programmes. The budget of €8.7 billion for this objective accounts for 2.5% of the total 2007-13 allocation for cohesion policy, including the allocation for Member States to participate in EU external border co-operation programmes supported by other instruments (IPA and ENPI). For European Territorial Co-operation the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) regulation is applicable, in particular chapter 3.

The European Grouping for Territorial Cooperation (EGTC) is a new European legal instrument designed to facilitate and promote cross-border, transnational and interregional cooperation. Unlike the structures which governed this kind of cooperation before 2007, the EGTC is a legal entity and as such, will enable regional and local authorities and other public bodies from different member states, to set up cooperation groupings with a legal personality. More information about the EGTC.