JASPERS: Joint Assistance to Support Projects in European Regions

Additional tools


What is JASPERS?

  • is a technical assistance partnership between three partners (European Commission, EIB and EBRD)
  • provides independent advice to beneficiary countries to help prepare high quality major projects to be co-financed by two EU Structural and Investment Funds (European Regional Development Fund and Cohesion Fund)

JASPERS' assistance may cover:

  • Project preparation support, from identification to submission of the request for EU grant finance
  • Independent Quality Review of projects
  • Post-submission appraisal function for all major projects submitted directly to the EU Commission
  • Horizontal assignments and strategic support
  • Capacity building, including a Competence Centre
  • Implementation support
  • Connecting Europe Facility projects, mainly in the rail and road sectors
  • European Investment Advisory Hub (EIAH) through the screening and handling of requests

Which projects qualify for assistance under JASPERS?

JASPERS targets assistance on infrastructure projects which are defined as 'major' projects in the Common provisions Regulation - for example, roads, rail, water, waste, energy and urban transport projects. In the case of small countries where there will not be many projects of this size JASPERS concentrates on the largest projects.

Potential beneficiaries should contact the Managing Authority responsible for coordinating EU Structural Funds in their country for information.

How is JASPERS organised?

The staff of JASPERS are provided through a partnership arrangement: the Commission provides funds which are used to recruit specialist staff while the other partners - EIB and EBRD - contribute by seconding staff directly.

JASPERS is organised into seven divisions:

  • Roads;
  • Rail, Air and Maritime;
  • Water and Waste;
  • Energy and Solid Waste;
  • Smart Development;
  • Networking and Competence Centre;
  • Independent Quality Review (IQR).

JASPERS headquarters staff are based at the EIB in Luxembourg but it has three regional centers in Warsaw, Vienna and Bucharest where about 70% of its staff are based so that they are close to the beneficiaries and can offer a more efficient service

  • Warsaw covers Poland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania
  • Vienna covers the Czech Republic, Hungary, Slovakia, Slovenia and Malta,
  • Bucharest covers Romania and Bulgaria

The experts based in Luxembourg can work in any of the beneficiary Member States, as required.