Eligible countries

The Erasmus+ Programme is open to the following countries:

Programme Countries

The following countries can fully take part in all the Actions of the Erasmus+ Programme:

Member States of the European Union (EU)1



Czech Republic

























United Kingdom2


Non EU Programme Countries

North Macedonia








Partner Countries

The following countries can take part in certain Actions of the Programme, subject to specific criteria or conditions (for more information, please consult Part B of this Guide). Funding will be allocated to organisations in the countries within their territories as recognised by international law.

Applicants and participants must respect any restrictions placed on EU external assistance imposed by the European Council. Applications have to be in line with the overall EU values of respect for human dignity, freedom, democracy, equality, the rule of law and respect for human rights, including the rights of persons belonging to minorities as foreseen in art 2 of the Treaty of the European Union.

Partner Countries neighbouring the EU4

Western Balkans (Region 1)

Eastern Partnership countries

(Region 2)

South-Mediterranean countries

(Region 3)


Russian Federation (Region 4)



Bosnia and Herzegovina








Territory of Ukraine as recognised by international law












Territory of Russia as recognised by international law

Other Partner Countries

Some Actions of the Programme are open to any Partner Country of the world listed below. For some other Actions the geographical scope is less broad. 

The Partner Countries below are regrouped according to the financial instruments of the EU external action.

Region 5


Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City State

Region 67


Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, DPR Korea, India, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam

Region 78

Central Asia

Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan

Region 89

Latin America

Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Venezuela


Region 910

Iran, Iraq, Yemen

Region 1011

South Africa

Region 11


Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Congo - Democratic Republic of the, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Republic of Côte d'Ivoire, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia- Federated States of, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Kitts And Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent And The Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Timor Leste - Democratic Republic of, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Region 1212

Industrialised: Gulf Cooperation countries

Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates.


Region 1313

Other Industrialised countries

Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Hong Kong, Japan, (Republic of) Korea, Macao, New Zealand, Singapore, Taiwan, United States of America, Uruguay.

Region 14

Faroe Islands, Switzerland


For more information, please consult the detailed description of the Actions of the Programme in the Part B of this Guide. 

Requirements regarding visa and residence permits

Participants in Erasmus+ projects may need to obtain a visa for staying abroad in the Programme or Partner Country hosting the activity. It is a responsibility of all the participating organisations to ensure that the authorisations required (short or long-term stay visas or residence permits) are in order before the planned activity takes place.

It is strongly recommended that the authorisations are requested from the competent authorities well in advance, since the process may take several weeks. National Agencies and the Executive Agency may give further advice and support concerning visas, residence permits, social security, etc.  The EU Immigration Portal contains general information on visa and residence permits, for both short-term and long-term stays: https://ec.europa.eu/immigration/

  • 1. According to Article 33.3 of the Council Decision 2013/755/EU* on the Association of the OCTs with the European Union adopted on 25 November 2013 (http://eur-lex.europa.eu/LexUriServ/LexUriServ.do?uri=OJ:L:2013:344:0001:0118:EN:PDF), the Union shall ensure that individuals and organisations from or to Overseas Countries and Territories (OCT) shall be eligible for the Erasmus+, subject to the rules of the Programme and the arrangements applicable to the Member State with which these OCTs they are connected. This means that individuals and organisations from the OCTs are participating in the programme on a 'Programme country' status, the 'Programme country' being the Member State with which they are connected. The list of OCTs can be found at: https://ec.europa.eu/europeaid/regions/overseas-countries-and-territories-octs/oct-eu-association_en
  • 2. FOR BRITISH APPLICANTS: Please be aware that eligibility criteria must be complied with for the entire duration of the grant. If the United Kingdom withdraws from the European Union during the grant period without concluding an agreement with the European Union ensuring in particular that British applicants continue to be eligible, you will cease to receive EU funding (while continuing, where possible, to participate) or be required to leave the project on the basis of the relevant provisions of the grant agreement on termination.
  • 3. The recognition of Serbia as a Programme Country is subject to the following conditions:
    • The availability of the appropriations provided for in the draft budget for 2019 after the adoption of the budget for 2019 for Serbia.
    • Amendment to the Agreement between European Union and Republic of Serbia on the participation of the Republic of Serbia in "Erasmus+": the Union programme for education, training, youth and sport.
  • 4. The eligibility criteria formulated in commission notice Nr.2013/C-205/05 (OJEU C-205 of 19/07/2013, pp. 9-11) shall apply for all actions implemented through this Programme Guide, including with respect to third parties receiving financial support in the cases where the respective action involves financial support to third parties by grant beneficiaries in accordance with article 204 of the EU's Financial Regulation.
  • 5. This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.
  • 6. This designation shall not be construed as recognition of a State of Palestine and is without prejudice to the individual positions of the Member States on this issue.
  • 7. Classification used in the framework of the Development and Cooperation Instrument (DCI).
  • 8. As above
  • 9. As above
  • 10. As above
  • 11. As above
  • 12. Classification used in the framework of the Partnership Instrument (PI).
  • 13. Classification used in the framework of the Partnership Instrument (PI).