European Heritage Label: 18 sites pre-selected for the award

  • 4 years 4 months ago
  • any

The European Commission has received 18 proposals for sites to be awarded the European Heritage Label in 2015.

The laureates will be designated and celebrated in 2016. The European Heritage Label is a European Union initiative that raises awareness of sites significant to Europe's history, culture and development.

The proposals were submitted by all member states (except Ireland, Finland , UK and Sweden) as part of the 2015 selection process. Each country can pre-select up to two sites of which one may be awarded the label.

The following pre-selected sites were submitted to the Commission with a view to the final selection:

  • The Congress Hall at the Federal Chancellery of Austria (Austria)
  • The Imperial Palace of Vienna (Austria)
  • Mundaneum (Belgium)
  • The Adolf Loos interiors in Pilsen (Czech Republic)
  • The Olomouc Museum of Art - Archdiocesan Museum Olomouc (Czech Republic)
  • Krapina Neanderthal Museum and the prehistoric site of Neanderthal man Husnjakovo (Croatia)
  • Industrial heritage of the city of Rijeka (Croatia)
  • The historic ensemble of the University of Tartu (Estonia)
  • Strasbourg and its European quarter (France)
  • Franz Liszt Academy of Music, Budapest (Hungary)
  • Royal Palace of Visegrad (Hungary)
  • The Holy Cross and Brother Mansueto from Castiglione, an ambassador to the courts of Europe (Italy)
  • Castle of Canossa (Italy)
  • Luzna - Pustki wartime cemetery (Poland)
  • Industrialisation in Upper Silesia (Poland)
  • Sagres Point, Algarve (Portugal)
  • Mertola Vila Museu (Portugal)
  • Schunck Glass Palace, Heerlen (The Netherlands)

The procedure for awarding sites consists of two stages. Sites are proposed by countries and then a final selection is carried out by a European Panel of independent experts, under the responsibility of the Commission.

The panel will assess the sites using the criteria laid down for the label. Most important for a site's selection is its European significance and the activities that it has planned to highlight its European dimension.

The panel will issue its report by the end of 2015. The Commission designates the sites to be awarded the label on the basis of the panel's recommendation.