2015 European Union Prize for Literature winners to be announced at London Book Fair

  • Tuesday, 14 April, 2015
  • London, United Kingdom

This EU Prize awards new emerging European authors and, in doing so, helps spread their works across Europe to new audiences.

The winners will be announced by Tibor Navracsics, the European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport.

The London Book Fair - an event that attracts the entire publishing industry - invited Commissioner Navracsics as a main speaker at its official opening ceremony.

Each year, 12 or 13 of the countries in the Creative Europe programme put forward candidates for the prize.

National juries nominate three up-and-coming authors from each of these countries and, in turn, select eventual winners of the European prize.

This year, there will be 12 prizes awarded to authors from Austria, Croatia , France , Hungary , Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Norway, Poland , Portugal, Slovakia and Sweden.

The prize is organised by the European Booksellers Federation, the European Writers' Council and the Federation of European Publishers, on behalf of the European Commission.

To give an example of the competition, this year for Ireland, there are three nominees:

  • Mary Costello's Academy Street – the powerful story of a young Irish woman who migrates to the United States
  • Donal Ryan's The Spinning Heart – a snapshot of a rural Irish community battered by the recent recession
  • Deidre Sullivan's Primperfect – the intelligent and funny final installment of her young adult trilogy about Prim

The London Book Fair is an annual trade fair for the publishing industry and has grown in influence and size since its first edition in the 1970s.

Attendees can expect stands from across the industry, conferences on industry trends, seminars, as well as meet-the-author events and award ceremonies.

The fair runs from the 14-16 April and will be held at the Olympia in London, United Kingdom.

Following on from the announcement, an actual awards ceremony for the 12 winners of the European Union Prize for Literature will be held in Brussels, Belgium on 23 June.