EU Architecture Prize winners and Emerging Architecture winners for 2017 announced

  • 3 years 3 months ago
  • programme

The 2017 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture has been awarded to the innovative renovation of a 60's apartment building by NL Architects and XVW architectuur.

NL Architects and XVW architectuur are the winners of the 2017 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture - Mies van der Rohe Award, the European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe announced today at a press conference in Garage Citroën in Brussels.

The two Dutch architecture firms have been singled out from 5 finalists for their refurbishing of one of the country's biggest apartment buildings, called Kleiburg, in the Amsterdam neighbourhood of Bijlmermeer. A consortium made up of the owner, the neighbours, the Bijlmermuseum and the architects rescued the building from the wrecking ball by renovating the main structure but leaving the inhabitants to refurbish the apartments by themselves. NL Architects won the Special Mention of the 2005 Prize for Emerging Architect.

2017 Emerging Architect

The 2017 Emerging Architect award has been awarded to Belgian architecture firms MSA and V+ for the NAVEZ project, five social units in the north of Brussels. The housing project was designed as a landmark at the entrance of the city and accommodation for large families. The building has been designed in harmony with the surrounding infrastructure and the neighbourhood.

The President of the international jury was the British architect Stephen Bates. 355 projects were nominated to compete for the 2017 edition of the prize. The awards ceremony takes place on 26 May at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona. Visits to the finalist works and other events will be held in the week before.

European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture

The European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award highlights the contribution of European architects to the development of new ideas and technologies in contemporary urban development. Launched in 1987 and co-funded by the Creative Europe and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe, the €60,000 prize is the most prestigious in European architecture. It is awarded every other year to works completed within the previous two years.

The architecture sector is at the heart of Europe's vibrant cultural and creative industries. It employs over half a million people directly and over 12 million people work in the construction industry. The cultural and creative industries make up 4.5% of the EU's GDP.

Want to give your feedback about this page?