European Heritage Label: 25 sites pre-selected by the Member States

  • 1 year 1 week ago
  • any

The European Commission has received 25 proposals from 19 Member States for sites to be awarded the European Heritage Label. A panel of experts is now analysing all the applications and the selected sites will be designated by the Commission early in 2018.

Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, Tibor Navracsics, said "The celebrations marking the 60th anniversary of the Treaties of Rome last month were a powerful reminder that the European Union is built on values such as peace, freedom, tolerance, solidarity. These values must not be taken for granted, we have to work for them every day. All the sites on the European Heritage Label list promote these values and remind us of all those who fought to establish and preserve them. I look forward to celebrating the sites that will be added to the list during the European Year of Cultural Heritage in 2018."

The following pre-selected sites were submitted to the Commission with a view to the final selection:

  • Imperial Palace Innsbruck (Austria)
  • The Bois du Cazier (Belgium)
  • Coudenberg Palace (Belgium)
  • Ancient Plovdiv Architectural and Historical Reserve (Bulgaria)
  • The legacy of the composer Bohuslav Martinů – to all his homes: Polička, Europe, the world (Czech Republic)
  • The Sites of Great Moravia (Czech Republic and Slovakia)
  • Leipzig’s Musical Heritage Sites (Germany)
  • Estonian and Latvian Manors (Estonia and Latvia)
  • Archaeological Site of Monemvasia (Greece)
  • The former Natzweiler concentration camp and its satellite Camps (France and Germany)
  • Revitalized fortresses of Šibenik (Croatia)
  • Two fortresses – one hero (Croatia and Hungary)
  • Dohány Street Synagogue - Budapest (Hungary)
  • Zsolnay Cultural Quarter (Hungary)
  • Fort Cadine (Italy)
  • Village of Schengen (Luxembourg)
  • The Maastricht Treaty 1991-1992 (The Netherlands)
  • The Historical Centre of Turaida (Latvia)
  • Lodz - Multicultural Landscape of an Industrial City (Poland)
  • Westerplatte Battlefield (Poland)
  • Mértola Historical Centre (Portugal)
  • Bussaco Cultural Heritage Site (Portugal)
  • Oradea Fortress (Romania)
  • The Memorial of the Victims of Communism and to the Resistance (Sighet Memorial) (Romania)
  • Javorca – the Place of European Remembrance (Slovenia)

The European Heritage Label is a European Union initiative that raises awareness of sites significant to Europe's history, culture and development.

The procedure for awarding sites consists of two stages taking place every two years. Sites are proposed by countries and then a final selection is carried out by a European Panel of independent experts, under the responsibility of the Commission. The panel assesses the sites using the criteria laid down for the label. Most important for a site's selection is its European significance and the activities that it has planned to highlight its European dimension.