5 EU architecture prize finalists announced

  • 1 year 8 months ago
  • programme

5 architectural works from around Europe are through to the final stage of the 2017 edition of the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture - Mies van der Rohe Award.

The five finalists were selected from a shortlist of 40 works, published in January 2017.

The jury of the prize will visit the five works before the winner is announced on 16 May in Brussels. The Emerging Architecture Winner, an award recognising the work of up-and-coming architects, will be announced on the same date. The award ceremony of the prize takes place on 26 May at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.

The jury is made up of 7 expert members: Stephen Bates (president), Gonçalo Byrne, Peter Cachola Schmal, Pelin Derviş, Dominique Jakob, Juulia Kauste and Małgorzata Omilanowska

The finalists

The five finalists are:

deFlat Keilburg


deFlatKleiburg, Amsterdam

The deFlat Keilburg in Amsterdam, the Netherlands by Walter van Dijk and Xander Vermeulen Windsant from NL Architects and XVW architectuur, Amsterdam.

© Photo: StijnSpoelstra

Ely Court


Ely Court, London, UK

Ely Court in London, United Kingdom, by Alison Brooks of Alison Brooks Archictects, London.

© Photo: Paul Riddle



Kannikegården, Ribe, DK

Kannikegården in Ribe, Denmark, by Lene Tranberg and Boje Lundgaard of Lundgaard &Tranberg Architects, Copenhagen.

© Photo: Anders Sune Berg

Katyn Museum


Katyn Museum, Warsaw, PL

Katyn Museum in Warsaw, Poland, by Jan Belina-Brzozowski and Konrad Grabowiecki of BBGK Architekci, Warsaw.

© Photo: JuliuszSokołowski

Rivesaltes Memorial Museum


Rivesaltes Memorial Museum, Rivesaltes/Ribesaltes, FR

Rivesaltes Memorial Museum in Rivesaltes/Ribesaltes, France, by Rudy Ricciotti of Rudy Ricciotti, Bandol.

© Photo: Kevin Dolmaire

The rules of the prize are available in full on the Fundació Mies Van der Rohe website.