Winners of the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards 2016

  • 3 years 2 months ago
  • any

The European Commission and Europa Nostra have revealed the winners of Europe’s most prestigious prize in the heritage field.

The European Commission and Europa Nostra have announced today the winners of the 2016 European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards. The prize is considered to be Europe’s highest honour in the cultural heritage field. The 28 winners selected out of 187 applications from 36 countries, nominated by organisations and individuals are honoured for outstanding achievements in four categories:

2016 Award Winners (listed alphabetically by country)

Category: Conservation

  1. Employees of the National Museum in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
  2. Mrs. Giulia Maria Crespi, Milan, Italy
  3. Friends of the Storfjord, Sunnmøre, Norway

Category: Education, Training and Awareness-Raising

  1. The Great War through the eyes of a child’, Roeselare, Belgium
  2. ‘Star in School’, Karlovac, Croatia
  3. ‘Adopt a Monument’, Tampere, Finland
  4. Preserving Dance Heritage, Berlin, Germany
  5. ‘The Little Museum of Dublin’, Dublin, Ireland
  6. Apprentice Tour Guide Programme, Milan, Italy
  7. Sustainable Development of Mourela Plateau, Peneda-Gerês, Portugal
  8. ‘Heritage Schools’, Bristol, United Kingdom


Award ceremony - 24 May 2016

The awards will be presented by Tibor Navracsics, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, and Plácido Domingo, the world-renowned opera singer and President of Europa Nostra, on 24 May, at the historic Zarzuela Theatre in Madrid.

I warmly congratulate the winners and their teams for their exceptional work. Thanks to their talent and commitment, numerous European cultural heritage treasures have been safeguarded and revitalised for todays and future generations. Their projects raise awareness of cultural heritage as a strategic resource for Europe’s society and economy.

Cultural heritage unites people, builds bridges between the past, the present and the future. At the same time, it generates economic growth, promotes sustainable development and fosters social participation and inclusion - which is today more vital than ever. That is why we support the Prize and other heritage projects through our Creative Europe programme and will continue to do so.  Tibor Navracsics

The projects chosen are outreaching examples of creativity, innovation, sustainable development and social participation in the heritage field throughout Europe.

At the ceremony, seven winners will be named as Grand Prix laureates, receiving €10,000 each, and one will receive the Public Choice Award, chosen by online poll. The online poll is conducted by Europa Nostra and citizens from around the world can now vote online for the Public Choice Award.

The prize winners will present their projects during the Excellence Fair on the morning of 24 May at the headquarters of the College of Architects of Madrid. They will also participate in numerous networking events taking place during the European Heritage Congress in Madrid (22-27 May) organised by Europa Nostra in the framework of its network project 'Mainstreaming Heritage', which has the support of the Creative Europe programme of the European Union.

2016 Europa Nostra Award

A Europa Nostra Award is presented to a remarkable heritage achievement from European countries not taking part in the EU Creative Europe programme. This year a project from Belarus in the category "Dedicated Service" has received the award.