Winners of 2015 EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards announced

  • 4 years 1 month ago
  • any

The European Commission and Europa Nostra have revealed the winners of Europe’s most prestigious prize in the heritage field.

The 28 award winners, selected from 263 applications submitted by organisations and individuals from 29 countries, are honoured for outstanding achievements in four categories:

  1. conservation
  2. research and digitization
  3. dedicated service to heritage
  4. education, training and awareness-raising

The European Heritage Awards Ceremony will take place on 11 June at the Oslo City Hall.

The ceremony will be co-hosted by Tibor Navracsics, the European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport, Plácido Domingo, the renowned opera singer and Europa Nostra President, Fabian Stang, the Mayor of Oslo.

At the ceremony, seven of the winners will be named as Grand Prix laureates, receiving €10,000 each, and one will receive the Public Choice Award, chosen by online poll.

Speaking about the announcement Commissioner Navracsics said:

“Cultural heritage is one of Europe's biggest assets. It brings countless cultural, economic, social and environmental benefits to all of us."

"I would like to congratulate the winners of the 2015 EU Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards... We all need to keep working together to help communities and citizens take ownership of our heritage, make it part of our daily lives and preserve it for the generations to come”

2015 Award Winners (listed alphabetically by country)

Category: Conservation

Category: Research and Digitization

Research Projects:

Digitization Projects:

Category: Dedicated Service

Category: Education, Training and Awareness-Raising

Education Projects:

Training Projects:

Awareness-Raising Projects: