Five Finalists Announced for the 2015 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture - Mies Van Der Rohe Award

  • 2 years 5 months ago
  • any

The 5 Finalists have been announced in London. On 7 and 8 May, the finalists’ lectures, the exhibition opening and the final ceremony celebration will be held in Barcelona.

On 25 February, the European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe announced the five finalists who will compete for the 2015 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award at press conference at Europe House, London. Speaking at the press conference were Giovanna Carnevali, Director of the Fundació Mies van der Rohe, Alessandro Senesi, Deputy Head of Creative Europe at the European Commission, and Tony Chapman, a member of the 2015 Jury.


Ravensburg Art Museum, Ravensburg, Germany


Kunstmuseum Ravensburg, Ravensburg, Deutschland

Office: Lederer Ragnarsdóttir Oei

Authors: Arno Lederer and Marc Oei (Germany), Jórunn Ragnarsdóttir (Iceland)


Danish Maritime Museum, Helsingør, Denmark


Museet for Søfart, Helsingør, Denmark

Office: BIG - Bjarke Ingels Group

Authors: Bjarke Ingels and David Zahle (Denmark)


Antinori Winery, San Casciano Val di Pesa, Florence, Italy


Cantina Antinori, San Casciano Val di Pesa, Firenze, Italia

Office: Archea Associati

Authors: Giovanni Polazzi, Laura Andreini, Marco Casamonti and Silvia Fabi (Italy)


Philarmonic Hall Szczecin, Szczecin, Poland


Filharmonia Szczecinska, Szczecin, Polska

Office: Barozzi / Veiga (Studio A4 collaborator)

Authors: Alberto Veiga (Spain) and Fabrizio Barozzi (Italy)


Saw Swee Hock Student Centre, London School of Economics, London, UK


Office: O’Donnell + Tuomey (Ireland)

Authors: Sheila O'Donnell, John Tuomeyand Willie Carey (Ireland)


Next steps

In the next few weeks, the jury members will visit the five finalist works and will collect first hand information from their users. On 7 May, the authors of each work will present their project at an open event in Barcelona that will take place before the jury's final decision is made. On 8 May, the names of the 2015 laureates will be announced at a special event at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona. The 2015 Prize exhibition and a celebration to acknowledge the work of all the architects and people involved in the prize will take place that same day.