EU Architecture Prize Awards Ceremony

  • Thursday, 25 May, 2017 to Friday, 26 May, 2017
  • Mies van der Rohe Pavilion, Barcelona, Spain
  • programme events

The winner of the biennial EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture will be celebrated on 25-26 May at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona.

Over two days, the winners will have chance to present their works and receive their prizes from the European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe.

On 25 May, a press conference will take place presenting the winner of the prize and the winner of the Emerging Architect Prize. There will also be a tour of exhibitions of the winning works and interviews with the winners from the 2015 edition of the prize.

On 26 May, the four finalists of the prize will give keynote lectures and two panel debates on collective housing and regeneration, and contemporary architecture and heritage will be held. These sessions will be followed by lectures from the 2017 winner and the Emerging Architect winner. The official award ceremony will take place in the evening and will feature speeches by European officials, representatives of the Spanish and Catalan governments and Stephen Bates, the President of the Jury for the prize.

EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture

EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture is managed jointly by the European Commission, through the Creative Europe programme, and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe, based in Barcelona. The €60,000 prize and €20,000 special mention are awarded to single works demonstrating excellence in conceptual, technical, and constructive terms.

The prize aims to raise awareness of excellence in the field of architecture, drawing attention to the contributions of European professionals in the development of new architectural concepts, techniques and technologies.