These are the 2020 EU Prize for Literature winners

  • 1 month 2 weeks ago
  • any prize award

13 emerging authors from across Europe have been announced as laureates of the 2020 European Union Prize for Literature.

On 19 May, Mariya Gabriel, European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth announced the winners of the 2020 European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL):

  • Belgium: Nathalie Skowronek, La carte des regrets (The map of regrets)
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina: Lana Bastašić, Uhvati zeca (Catch the rabbit)
  • Croatia: Maša Kolanović, Poštovani kukci i druge jezive priče (Dear insects and other scary stories)
  • Cyprus: Σταύρος Χριστοδούλου (Stavros Christodoulou), Τη μέρα που πάγωσε ο ποταμός (The day the river froze)
  • Denmark: Asta Olivia Nordentoft, Penge på lommen (Money in your pocket)
  • Estonia: Mudlum (Made Luiga), Poola poisid (Polish boys)
  • Germany: Matthias Nawrat, Der traurige Gast (The Sad Guest)
  • Kosovo: Shpëtim Selmani, Libërthi i dashurisë (The Booklet of Love)
  • Luxembourg: Francis Kirps, Die Mutationen (The Mutations)
  • Montenegro: Stefan Bošković, Ministar (Minister)
  • North Macedonia: Петар Андоновски (Petar Andonovski), Страв од варвари (Fear of barbarians)
  • Norway: Maria Navarro Skarange, Bok om sorg (Book of grief)
  • Spain: Irene Solà, Canto jo i la muntanya balla (I sing and the mountain dances)

Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth said:

"In the current crisis we rely more than ever on artists and authors to help us cope with the isolation of confinement. Reading is a powerful way to feel strong emotions, be transported to a different universe in time and space, and meet new characters, all while staying at home. Congratulations to all this year’s winners of the European Prize for Literature!”

How were the winners chosen?

National juries comprised of publishers, booksellers, authors and critics have selected the winners from each of the 13 countries participating this year. The Prize has been recognising emerging fiction writers from across Europe since 2009. Since its first year, the European Commission has given awards to 122 authors in 11 editions of the prize.

Which countries are involved?

The competition is open to the 41 countries involved in the Creative Europe programme.  Each year, one third of the countries nominate a jury member, so every country is represented over a three-year cycle.

Who were the winners in 2019?

In 2019 14 authors from 14 countries were awarded with the EU Prize for Literature. These included the first ever winners from Georgia and Ukraine.

Want to give your feedback about this page?