Spotify teams up with EBBA Awards

  • 4 years 1 week ago
  • any

The European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA) has teamed up with Spotify to study the locations of the listeners of the shortlisted artists.

Spotify undertook a study of the listenership of each of the ten EBBA winners, to identify how many of their streams came from outside of their own country.

The winner was Klangkarussell, which saw more than 98% of their streams come from outside their home country of Austria, narrowly beating Hozier from Ireland with 97%.

Spotify reveals that 85% of streams come from outside the home markets of the EBBA winners.

The results of the 2015 EBBA winners were:

1. Klangkarussell (Austria)  98%
2. Hozier (Ireland)    97%
3. John Newman (UK)  87%
4. Milky Chance (Germany)   87%
5. Tove Lo (Sweden)   87%
6. Todd Terje (Norway)   86%
7. MO (Denmark)    83%
8. Melanie De Biasio (Belgium)  77%
9. Indila (France)    66%
10. The Common Linnets (Netherlands) 47%

Will Page, Spotify's director of Economics, commented: "Both EBBA and Spotify share a common belief. The EBBA are about highlighting European Artists with Cross Border Success, and Spotify believes in giving music fans the ability to access and share to all the music in the world, irrespective of borders."

EBBA – Award Cermony

The European Border Breakers Awards 2015 was handed out on 14 January, in the Stadsschouwburg Groningen in The Netherlands, during the opening night of Eurosonic Noorderslag.
During the award show of the European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA) the 2015 EBBA winners Indila (FR), Melanie de Biasio (BE), MØ (DK) and The Common Linnets (NL) performed. The show was presented by BBC-legend Jools Holland and complemented by a guest performance of The Ting Tings (UK), EBBA winner 2009. This edition a new award will be added to the European Border Breakers Awards, the EBBA Best Festival Act.

During the next months the EBBA show will be broadcast by many public TV-stations in Europe. In 2014 the EBBA show was broadcast by 16 public TV-stations in Europe.

Photos, playlists, logo and press releases are available on the European Border Breakers Award's website :
Video portraits of the 2015 EBBA winners, ‘2 Minutes With’ video portraits of former EBBA winners and glimpses of the 2015 EBBA awards’ show can be seen on YouTube .

For more information, please contact:
Marije Jansen, Eurosonic Noorderslaag,
Corinne Rigaud, Creative Europe programme: