List of Nominees revealed – EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture 2019

  • 3 months 1 week ago
  • any

383 works from 238 cities in 38 countries have been nominated for the EU Mies Award 2019 – which is organised by the Fundació Mies van der Rohe with the support of Creative Europe. The jury will be chaired by Danish architect Dorte Mandrup.

The EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture/Mies van der Rohe Award is presented biennially to works completed by architects from and in Creative Europe participating countries within the previous two years.  Nominations are forwarded by the national architecture associations, independent experts and the Prize Advisory Committee. 3 new countries were invited to participate this year: Armenia, Kosovo and Tunisia.

A jury of distinguished professionals will evaluate the works using a holistic approach –  from their conception and construction phases to their final, public use. The 2019 jury will by formed by Dorte Mandrup (Chairwoman), George Arbid, Angelika Fitz, Ștefan Ghenciulescu, Kamiel Klaasse, María Langarita and Frank McDonald.

The 40 shortlisted works will be announced on January 16 and the 5 Finalists on February 13. The winners will be announced in mid-April; the award ceremony will take place  on May 7 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona. The principal objectives of the Prize are to recognize and commend excellence and innovation in the field of architecture; it will also highlight the important contribution of European professionals to the sustainable development and transformation of Europe’s built environment.

The Prize Winner receives 60.000€ and a sculpture representing the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion of Barcelona. The Emerging Architect Winner receives 20.000€ together with the sculpture. The finalists and the clients also receive the sculpture, recognizing their essential contributions to contemporary architecture.