Four winners of the Young Talent Architecture Award (YTAA) 2018 announced

  • 7 months 3 weeks ago
  • any

The 4 winners of the YTAA 2018 have been announced on 28 June. This is the 2nd edition of YTAA, which aims to support the talent of recently graduated Architects, Urban Planners and Landscape Architects by rewarding the best diploma projects of the last two years in Europe and beyond.

The 4 YTAA Winners – selected from 334 projects submitted by 451 students – are Hendrik Brinkmann, Julio Gotor Valcárcel, Matthew Gregorowski and Loed Stolte. The latter passed away in 2017; YTAA 2018 is dedicated to his memory.

Themis Christophidou, Director General of DG Education and Culture, declared that “it is extraordinary to discover that during the European Year of Cultural Heritage, the 4 YTAA Winners have worked with the theme of heritage. Architectural education that includes heritage is essential for the future of Europe and the once heritage-contemporary dichotomy is becoming a powerful heritage-contemporary alliance.”

The jury chaired by Salomon Frausto, Director of Studies at the Berlage, Delft, underlined that the awarded projects are of social and cultural relevance and clearly illustrate the kick-off of some highly interesting careers. The YTAA Winners will be supported in the initial stages of their professional development, notably through the creation of a network with the architects and critics involved in the EU Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award.  

The Awards Ceremony will take place on September 20th at Palazzo Mora in Venice with a debate on Free Space, Education and Heritage, in which the winners will participate together with emerging and well-known architects as well as other guests.

The exhibition "Young Talent Architecture Award. YTAA 2018",   inaugurated on May 24th at Palazzo Mora, will remain open to the public until November 25th.

YTAA is a joint initiative of Creative Europe, the Fundació Mies van der Rohe, the Architects’ Council of Europe and the European Association for Architectural Education.