European Heritage Awards/Europa Nostra Awards 2020 announced

  • 2 months 1 day ago
  • any award

The European Commission and Europa Nostra have announced the winners of the 2020 European Heritage Awards/Europa Nostra Awards, funded by the EU’s Creative Europe programme.

The expert jury has selected 21 winners from 15 countries for their accomplishments in four categories. The winners of the European Heritage Awards/Europa Nostra Awards 2020, both individuals and initiatives, are inspiring examples that contribute to a more united and resilient Europe.

The winners in each category are:


  • Rubens' Garden Screen and Garden Pavilion, Antwerp, Belgium
  • Hvar's Arsenal, Croatia
  • Epitaphs of the University Church of Leipzig, Germany
  • The Museum of Fine Arts, Budapest, Hungary
  • Basilica of Santa Maria di Collemaggio, L’Aquila, Italy
  • LocHal, Tilburg, the Netherlands
  • Subterranean Caves and Wineries of El Cotarro, province of Burgos, Spain
  • The Iron Bridge, Shropshire, United Kingdom


  • Tramontana Network III, France/Italy/Poland/Portugal/Spain
  • Turin Papyrus Online Platform (TPOP), Italy
  • Scanning for Syria, the Netherlands

Dedicated Service

  • Mr. Don Duco, the Netherlands
  • Education, Training and Awareness-raising
  • Cross-border Collaboration for European Classical Music, Czech Republic
  • Arolsen Archives Online, Germany
  • The Secret Life of a Palace, Gödöllő, Hungary
  • Uccu Roma Informal Educational Foundation, Hungary
  • Auschwitz. Not long ago. Not far away, Poland/Spain
  • The Ambulance for Monuments, Romania

Three Europa Nostra Awards go to the following remarkable heritage achievements from European countries that are not taking part in the Creative Europe programme:

  • Manor Farm of Bois de Chênes, Switzerland (conservation category)
  • Société de Lecture, Geneva, Switzerland (dedicated service category)
  • SARAT - Safeguarding Archaeological Assets of Turkey, Turkey (education, training and awareness-raising category)

The European Commission and Europa Nostra are aware of the circumstances caused by the coronavirus outbreak in which the winners of the award were announced. This is why they hope in this time of confinement to inspire as many people as possible to discover online the award-winning achievements of 2020.

All those passionate about cultural heritage are invited to cast their vote online for their favourite award winners and decide which achievement will win the Public Choice Award in 2020.

The Grand Prix laureates (each receiving €10,000) and the Public Choice Award winner, chosen from among this year’s winning projects, will be announced after the summer.

Image: Europa Nostra © 2020

Find out more on the awards’ website.

Find out more about the European Heritage Awards.

Want to give your feedback about this page?