EU Mies Award 2019 opening in Bozar

  • Thursday, 12 September, 2019 to Sunday, 17 November, 2019
  • Rue Ravenstein 23, 1000 Bruxelles, Belgium
  • events

On the occasion of the inauguration of the EU Mies Award 2019 exhibition at BOZAR, the European Commission and Fundació Mies van der Rohe organise a debate with the 2019 winner and Belgian finalists of the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture.

The exhibition of the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture /Mies van der Rohe Award (EU Mies Award in short) 2019 will be opened on 12 September 2019 in BOZAR, Brussels.

The travelling exhibition shows models, texts, videos, sketches and drawings of the 40 shortlisted works (with a focus on the two prize winners and the finalists) and a summary of all the 383 nominees. The exhibition will be open to the public free of charge until 17 November 2019.

On that occasion, a debate will gather Christophe Hutin from the winning project Transformation of 530 dwellings - Grand Parc Bordeaux and the two Belgian finalists of the 2019 edition: Freek Persyn from 51N4E (for Skanderbeg Square) and Gideon Boie, project director of PC Caritas. Lisa De Visscher, artistic director of A+ Architecture in Belgium, will moderate the discussion.

The award winners questioned the repeated decision of demolishing a building that no longer meets today’s official requirements for comfort or aesthetic. Transforming the existing (building or public space) with a circular economy approach is also one of the major aspects presented by other selected projects.

Register here if you wish to attend the debate.


The EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture/Mies van der Rohe Award is presented biennially to works completed by architects from and in Creative Europe participating countries within the previous two years.

The principal objectives of the Prize are to recognize and commend excellence and innovation in the field of architecture; it also wants to highlight the important contribution of European architects to the sustainable development and transformation of Europe’s built environment.

Find out more about the 2019 winners and finalists.

Want to give your feedback about this page?