5 finalists announced for the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture 2019

  • 2 years 2 months ago
  • any

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced on 13 February the five finalist works which will compete for the EU Mies Award 2019. The jury will now visit the five finalists and select the winner to be announced in April. The award ceremony will be held on 7 May in Barcelona.

The EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture/Mies van der Rohe Award is presented biennially to works completed by architects from and in Creative Europe participating countries within the previous two years.

Among the 40 works shortlisted (out of 383 nominations) the jury has selected 5 finalists:

  • PC CARITAS in Melle by architecten de vylder vinck taillieu (Belgium);
  • Plasencia Auditorium and Congress Centre by selgascano (Spain);
  • Skanderbeg Square in Tirana by 51N4E, Anri Sala, Plant en Houtgoed and iRI (Albania);
  • Terracehouse Berlin by Brandlhuber+ Emde, Burlon and Muck Petzet Architekten (Germany);
  • Transformation of 530 dwellings - Grand Parc Bordeaux by Lacaton & Vassal architects, Frédéric Druot Architecture and Christophe Hutin Architecture (France).

The 7 members of the international jury are:

  • Dorte Mandrup (Chairwoman),
  • George Arbid,
  • Angelika Fitz,
  • Ștefan Ghenciulescu,
  • Kamiel Klaasse,
  • María Langarita and
  • Frank McDonald.

The 5 finalist works will be visited by the jury and the Winner announced in mid-April. The award ceremony will take place on 7 May 2019 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona. Save the date for the lectures, debates, exhibition opening and celebration with the Jury members, Winners, Finalists, Clients (those who commission the works) and other guests.

The Prize Winner will receive 60.000€ and a sculpture representing the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion of Barcelona. The Emerging Architect Winner receives 20.000€ together with the sculpture.

The principal objectives of the Prize are to recognize and commend excellence and innovation in the field of architecture; it will also highlight the important contribution of European professionals to the sustainable development and transformation of Europe’s built environment.

Visit the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture/Mies van der Rohe Award website for more information.

Want to give your feedback about this page?