2021 European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards open for applications

  • 6 months 1 week ago
  • any prize award

Architects, artisans, cultural heritage experts, professionals and volunteers, public and private institutions, and local communities: this is your chance to win the top heritage award in Europe.

The European Heritage Awards / Europa Nostra Awards supported by the EU funding programme Creative Europe are Europe’s highest honour in the field of heritage. The Awards recognise excellence in conservation projects and in research; celebrate the most dedicated heritage professionals and volunteers; as well as identifying the finest awareness raising, training and educational programmes.

What are the different awards for the 2021 edition?

Up to 30 remarkable heritage achievements from all over Europe are awarded in the 2021 edition. Up to 4 laureates will receive a Grand Prix and €10,000 each; one will be granted the Public Choice Award, chosen through an online vote conducted by Europa Nostra.

In addition, two “Ilucudare Special Prizes” will be awarded to one of the applications for excellence in heritage-led innovation and international relations.
All the winners will be celebrated at a special European Heritage Awards Ceremony.

Submit your project and share your success across Europe!

Apply Now!


This EU Prize for Cultural) was launched by the European Commission in 2002 and has been run by Europa Nostra ever since.

[Video here]

The Awards put the rich European heritage in the spotlight and have brought major benefits to the winners, such as greater (inter)national exposure, increased visitor numbers and follow-on funding.
The Awards scheme is supported by the Creative Europe programme of the European Union. The ILUCIDARE Special Prizes are supported by the European Union’s Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation Programme.

Want to give your feedback about this page?