The EU prize for popular and contemporary music

An EU initiative designed to support emerging talent and promote and celebrate the richness of the European repertoire.

What is it?

The prize for popular and contemporary music is a European Union initiative designed to support new music talent and promote and celebrate the richness of the European repertoire, in collaboration with a unique alliance of European music industry partners.

With the European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA), since 2004, the European Union has been recognising Europe's best up-and-coming artists. Every year’s winners represent a range of musical genres – from folk-influenced rock to electronic pop and dance music. Previous winners of the awards include some of Europe's best-known artists: Adele, Stromae and Dua Lipa, to name a few.

As from 2018, the Prize will take a completely new shape: the new European Union Prize for popular and contemporary music becomes the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards replacing the European Border Breakers Awards.

How does it work?

The Music Moves Europe Talent Awards are implemented by Eurosonic Noorderslag (ESNS) and supported by Creative Europe, the EU programme for cultural and creative sectors.  The Prize comes within the context of Music Moves Europe, the framework for EU action in support of the music sector, and is to be awarded annually to those artists who represent the European sound of today and tomorrow. The aim of the Prize is not only to celebrate new and upcoming artists from Europe but also to support them in developing their international careers.

Nominees are selected through monitoring the European Border Breakers Charts, their streaming figures, results from the European Talent Exchange Programme (ETEP) and recommendations from music export offices, as well as from the partners involved in the Prize.

Winners of the Prize will be rewarded with a chance to play live at ESNS, with a tailor-made training programme and with a financial support specifically intended for touring and promotion. The nature of the Prize affirms a shared commitment to helping emerging artists break through in Europe and beyond.

The Music Moves Europe Talent Awards are presented by Eurosonic and Reeperbahn music Festivals, in cooperation with Digital Music Europe (DME), the European Broadcasting Union (EBU), the European Music Exporters Exchange (EMEE), the Independent Music Companies Association (IMPALA), the International Music Managers Forum (IMMF), the live music platform for new European talent (Liveurope), the European network of music venues and festivals (Live DMA), and the European Festival Association (Yourope).

About Eurosonic Noorderslag (ESNS)

ESNS is the place to discover and access the very best emerging European music talent. As the European Music Platform, the event has a proven track record of helping to break new acts on the international music scene.

What is next? 

The nominees for the awards will be presented at the Reeperbahn Festival in Hamburg in September. Then the twelve winners of the prize will be announced in November and the Music Moves Europe Talent Awards will be handed over during a grand award ceremony at ESNS on Wednesday 16 January 2019.

Where can I find out more?

@europe_creative on Twitter

Creative Europe on Facebook

@MME_Awards on Twitter

#MME_Awards on Twitter

Learn more about


Reeperbahn Festival






Live DMA