

Names of Sub-areas and Divisions of FAO fishing areas 27 and 37 NORTH-EAST ATLANTIC

Subarea I Barents Sea

Subarea II Norwegian Sea, Spitzbergen, and Bear Island

Division II a Norwegian Sea

Division II b Spitzbergen and Bear Island

Subarea III Skagerrak, Kattegat, Sound, Belt Sea, and Baltic Sea; the Sound and Belt together

known also as the Transition Area

Division III a Skagerrak and Kattegat

Division III b,c Sound and Belt Sea or Transition Area

Division III b (23) Sound
Division III c (22) Belt Sea
Division III d (24-32) Baltic Sea
Subarea IV North Sea

Division IV a Northern North Sea
Division IV b Central North Sea
Division IV c Southern North Sea

Subarea V Iceland and Faroes Grounds

Division V a Iceland Grounds
Division V b Faroes Grounds

Subarea VI Rockall, Northwest Coast of Scotland and North Ireland, the Northwest Coast

of Scotland and North Ireland also known as the West of Scotland

Division VI a Northwest Coast of Scotland and North Ireland or West of Scotland

Division VI b Rockall

Subarea VII Irish Sea, West of Ireland, Porcupine Bank, Eastern and Western English

Channel, Bristol Channel, Celtic Sea North and South, and Southwest of Ireland

- East and West

Division VII a Irish Sea

Division VII b West of Ireland
Division VII c Porcupine Bank

Division VII d Eastern English Channel
Division VII e Western English Channel

Division VII f Bristol Channel
Division VII g Celtic Sea North
Division VII h Celtic Sea South

Division VII j South-West of Ireland - East Division VII k South-West of Ireland - West

Subarea VIII Bay of Biscay

Division VIII a

Division VIII b

Division VIII c

Division VIII c

Division VIII d

Division VIII d

Division VIII d

Division VIII e

Division VIII e

Subarea IX

Division IX a

Bay of Biscay - Central

Bay of Biscay - South

Bay of Biscay - Offshore

West of Bay of Biscay

Portuguese Waters - East

Division IX a Portuguese Waters - East Division IX b Portuguese Waters - West

Subarea X
Subarea XII
Subarea XIV
Subarea XIV
Division XIV a
Azores Grounds
North of Azores
East Greenland
North-East Greenland

Division XIV b South-East Greenland

MEDITERRANEAN AND BLACK SEA

Subarea 37.1 Western Mediterranean

Division 37.1.1 Balearic
Division 37.1.2 Gulf of Lions
Division 37.1.3 Sardinia

Subarea 37.2 Central Mediterranean

Division 37.2.1 Adriatic
Division 37.2.2 Ionian

Subarea 37.3 Eastern Mediterranean

Division 37.3.1 Aegean
Division 37.3.2 Levant

Subarea 37.4 Black Sea
Division 37.4.1 Marmara Sea
Division 37.4.2 Black Sea
Division 37.4.3 Azov Sea