Skip to main content
European Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement Negotiations

Support Group for Ukraine

The Support Group for Ukraine (SGUA) was established by decision of the President of the European Commission in April 2014. The European Commission supports political and economic reforms necessary to consolidate a democratic, independent, united and prosperous Ukraine.

SGUA was created as a Task Force to support Ukraine in the implementation of the Association Agreement with the EU (including the Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Area).

SGUA ensures that support provided by the European Commission – advice, expertise and financial cooperation drawn from across the services of the Commission – is focused and concentrated.

SGUA also helps to mobilise EU Member States' expertise and enhance strategic upstream coordination with other donors and the International Financing Institutions.

The Acting Head of SGUA is Katarína Mathernová, Deputy Director General for Neighbourhood and Enlargement Negotiations (DG NEAR), who reports to the President of the European Commission and to the High Representative/Vice-President under the guidance of the Commissioner for European Neighbourhood Policy and Enlargement.

Katarína Mathernová can be contacted through SGUA's functional email (

The operational staff of the Support Group is drawn from a wide range of European Commission services, experts seconded from national administrations and contracted staff.

SGUA is made up of a number of thematic teams corresponding to the essential reform priorities set out in the Association Agreement. These teams cover areas such as governance and rule of law, justice and home affairs, economic governance, agriculture, energy, infrastructure, health, education, and communications.

It works closely with the European External Action Service, with the Delegation of the European Union to Ukraine and with the European Union Advisory Mission.


The Support Group is divided in five sector teams, as follows:

Policy and Reform Coordination
Team Leader: Tanel TANG

Social-economic & Fiscal Reforms, Decentralisation
Team Leader: Julda KIELYTE

Green Deal, Energy, Environment, Agriculture, Transport
Team Leader: Marcus LIPPOLD

Governance and Rule of Law, Digital
Team Leader: Frank PAUL

Financial Cooperation
Team Leader: Pier Luca LEPRI


SGUA is based in Brussels and can be contacted by email. Addresses are formed by firstname.lastname followed by