Navigation path

European Parliament Anti-Racism and Diversity Intergroup names new bureau

The European Parliament Anti-Racism and Diversity Intergroup (ARDI) has named the members of its bureau for the 2019-2024 mandate. ARDI promotes racial equality, counters racism and educates about non-discrimination in the work of the European Parliament. The new bureau members will lead this mission over the next five years.

Priorities for the new mandate include:

  • Mainstreaming anti-racism and diversity in EU policy and supporting initiatives on other forms of discrimination (e.g., adoption of the European Union Equal Treatment Directive)
  • Call for strategies on racism and specific issues such as Afrophobia, anti-Gypsyism, anti-Semitism and Islamophobia; ensuring the renewal of the National Roma Integration Strategy
  • Strengthening EU and national legal bases to tackle hate speech and hate crimes; ensuring investigation and prosecution of racist crimes
  • Promoting diversity in the workplace and in political participation; building the capacity of minority policymakers

European Parliament Anti-Racism and Diversity Intergroup bureau 2019-2024


  • Cornelia Ernst (Germany)
  • Magid Magid (United Kingdom)
  • Pierette Herzberger-Fofana (Germany)
  • Romeo Franz (Germany)
  • Samira Rafaela (Netherlands)
  • Evin Incir (Sweden)
  • Julie Ward (United Kingdom)

Co-Vice Presidents

  • Hilde Vautmans (Belgium)
  • Peter Pollak (Slovakia)

Read more about ARDI’s work