Skip to main content
European Commission logo
European Website on Integration
18 January 2022

Call for local authorities: apply for first European Capitals of Inclusion and Diversity Award

European Capitals of Inclusion and Diversity logo

The European Commission (EC) invites local authorities to apply for the first edition of the European Capitals of Inclusion and Diversity Award. The award recognises the work done by cities, towns, and regions in Europe to promote inclusion and create discrimination-free societies.

The award is a platform to show the world what these ‘capitals of inclusion’ are doing to create more diverse and inclusive spaces for all. Applications are open to all local authorities working to build fairer societies by promoting diversity and inclusion in terms of:

  • sex
  • racial or ethnic origin
  • religion or belief
  • disability
  • age

The award is given in two main categories:

  • local authorities with less than 50 000 inhabitants
  • local authorities with more than 50 000 inhabitants

Another special award will also be given for Roma inclusion.

A webinar for award applicants will take place on 18 January - register online.

Regions and cities from all EU countries are invited to apply until 15 February - see more about the application process. The award ceremony will be held on 28 April.


Publication dates
Geographic area
EU Wide
Posted by
Gergana Yovova
Content manager

Related content

More content