Mediterranean Sea basin

Mediterranean Sea basin

Mediterranean Sea basin

Mediterranean Sea basin

Mediterranean Sea

Though the Mediterranean Sea is bordered by over 20 countries, a large part of it lies outside national jurisdictions. Cooperation is therefore essential to

  • manage maritime activities
  • protect the marine environment & maritime heritage
  • prevent & combat pollution
  • improve safety & security at sea
  • promote blue growth & job creation

In the Mediterranean region, the integrated maritime policy is designed to improve cooperation and governance while also encouraging sustainable growth. It encompasses the following

Regional cooperation with Mediterranean partners

Western Mediterranean: Initiative for the sustainable development of the blue economy

Ten countries of the western Mediterranean region are working together on the shared interests for the region: five EU countries (France, Italy, Portugal, Spain and Malta), and five southern partner countries (Algeria, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco and Tunisia). It followed up on the Ministerial Declaration on Blue Economy endorsed by the Union for Mediterranean (UfM) on 17 November 2015. It has 3 main goals

  1. A safer and more secure maritime space
  2. A smart and resilient blue economy
  3. Better governance of the sea

More information is available on the Westmed web site

Euro-Mediterranean Partnership

The EU works with its southern and eastern neighbours through its European neighbourhood policy (ENP).

The Union for the Mediterranean promotes economic integration across 15 neighbours to the EU’s south in North Africa, the Middle East and the Balkans region.

EU-funded marine and maritime projects fall into a variety of policy areas. Examples are

Key documents

More info

Maritime Forum

European Atlas of the Seas

European Marine Observation and Data Network (EMODnet)

Maritime affairs