European Maritime Day

Service tools

Navigation path



European Maritime Day in Poole 2017

At the heart of European Maritime Day was a 2-day conference "The Future of our Seas" in Poole, UK, on 18 and 19 May. High-level sessions and stakeholder workshops attracted delegates & experts from across Europe and beyond.

The programme included more than 30 stakeholder workshops and project pitches on the following themes: 1) Innovation & Growth, 2) People & Skills, 3) Safety & Security, 4) Sustainability & Governance.

It also featured attractive plenary sessions, including inspirational key-notes, a leadership exchange, a practitioner's exchange on sea-basin strategies, as well as a project launch for the 2016 EMFF Blue Growth call.

As in previous years all interested stakeholders were invited to get actively involved in shaping the event.

Report of the conference

Presentations of the stakeholders workshops are also available.

During the plenaries we used to interact with the audience

Speakers list 2017

João Aguiar Machado
Director General, Directorate-General for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, European Commission
Alan AtKisson
Author, speaker, and senior advisor
Patrick Augier
Deputy Secretary General for the Sea, France
Dr Stéphanie Bordenave
Associate Professor
Ruska Boyadzhieva
Deputy Mayor “European policies, environmental protection”
Karen Coleman
Jon Copley
Marine biologist, communicator, writer and educator
Vasco Cordeiro
President of the Autonomous Government of the Azores, President of CPMR
Kevin Daffey
Director, Marine Engineering & Technology Rolls Royce
David Dingle CBE
Deputy Chairman of CLIA Europe and Chairman of Carnival UK
Jean D’Amour
Minister for Maritime Affairs, Quebec
Christos Economou
Head of Unit, Directorate-General for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, European Commission
Pierre Erwes
Chairman BioMarine International Clusters Association
Rhona Fairgrieve
Manager, Scottish Coastal Forum
Ditte Folke Henriksen
Danish Maritime Authority, EUSBR Policy Coordinator Ship
Bernhard Friess
Director, Directorate-General for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, European Commission
Julie Girling
Member of European Parliament
Caroline Hattam
Environmental economist at Plymouth Marine Laboratory
Peter Heffernan
Chief Executive, Marine Institute Ireland
Barbara Jackson
CEO, Race for the Baltic
Marco Lemos
Polytechnic Institute of Leiria, coordinator of AMALIA (Algae-to-Market Lab Ideas, Blue labs project)
Jean-Marie Lhuissier
Rear Admiral (Ret.), FR Navy
Sofia Loukmidou
Ministry of Environment and Energy, Greece, EUSAIR Blue Growth coordinator
Gesine Meißner
Member of the European Parliament
Ann Overmeire
Coordinator, Flanders Maritime Cluster
Jan Reid
Scotland Europe, coordinator of NESSIE
Martina Rossi
Coordinator Maritime Technology Cluster Friuli-Venezia-Giulia
Dr Philipp Schwartz
INTERACT Knowledge of the Seas Network
Jim Stewart
Chief Executive of Poole Harbour Commissioners
Charlotte Sugliani
Officer in charge of marine renewables, Pays de la Loire Development Agency
John Tuckett
CEO Marine Management Organisation
Richard Tuffs
Director, European Regions Research and Innovation Network
Karmenu Vella
European Commissioner for Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries
Helena Vieira
Marine Biotech Expert, University of Lisbon
Janet Walton
Leader of the Council, Borough of Poole
Lindsay Wilson
Mayor of Poole