European Maritime Day

Service tools

Navigation path

European Maritime Day in Turku 2016

European Maritime Day in Turku 2016

European Maritime Day in Turku 2016


The EMD 2016 conference attracted 1200 participants from the European maritime community. They focussed their discussions on "Investing in competitive blue growth - smart and sustainable solutions", identifying and highlighting the practical steps needed to drive blue growth investments, as well as innovation and change in the blue economy.

The event included 66 matchmaking meetings, a networking village with more than 30 exhibitors, a photo competition of more than 600 entries, site visits, a classical concert, an art project on marine litter and two days of public events around maritime themes in Turku (20-22 May).

Speakers list 2016

João Aguiar Machado
Director General, Directorate General for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, European Commission
George Alexakis
Vice-President of CPMR in charge of Maritime Affairs, Regional Councillor of Crete (Conference of Peripheral Maritime Regions of Europe)
Heli Antila
Chief Technology Officer, Fortum
Jan Boyesen
Business Development Manager, Maritime Development Center of Europe
Kerstin Brunnström
Regional Councillor of Västra-Götaland, Vice-President of CPMR North Sea Commission
Zoé Buyle-Bodin
Policy Officer in charge of Research, Innovation and Ocean energies Normandy Region – Brussels Representation
Karen Coleman
Tim Cornelius
CEO Atlantis Resources Ltd & Chairman of the MeyGen Project
Valerie Cummins
Director, Irish Maritime and Energy Resource Cluster (IMERC)
Xena Dion
Mayor of Poole
Cleopatra Doumbia-Henry
President, World Maritime University (WMU)
Pierre Erwes
Chairman BioMarine International Clusters Association
Karl Falkenberg
Senior Adviser, Policy Strategy Centre, European Commission
Fabio Fava
Professor, Industrial Research and Innovation, Università di Bologna
Jaap Gebraad
Board Secretary, Stichting STC-Group
Sigi Gruber
Head of Unit, Directorate General Research and Innovation, European Commission
Lasse Gustavsson
Executive Director in Europe, Oceana
Raquel Hughes
Investor Relations Director, Tidal Lagoon Power
Frigg Jørgensen
Executive director, Association of Arctic Expedition Cruise Operators (AECO)
Jyrki Katainen
Commission Vice-President for Jobs, Growth, Investment and Competitiveness
Jan Larosse
Senior Policy Analyst, Directorate General for Regional and Urban Policy, European Commission
Markku Markkula
President, Committee of the Regions
Gesine Meissner
MEP, Chair Intergroup Seas, Rivers, Islands and Coastal Areas
Mark Mellett
Vice Admiral, Chief of Staff, Defense Forces Ireland, Co-founder Irish Maritime Research Cluster
Bernard Meyer
President, CESA (Community of European Shipyards' Association)
Philippe Monbet
European Project Manager, Pole Mer Bretagne Atlantique / Sea Innovation Business Cluster
Takehiro Nakamura
Senior Programme Officer, International Waters, Division of GEF Coordination, UNEP
Ann Overmeire
Coordinator, Flanders Maritime Cluster
Antti Peltomäki
Deputy Director General, Directorate General for Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs (DG GROW)
Efstathios Peteves
Head of Unit, Joint Research Centre, European Commission
Iván Pineda
Director of Public Affairs, European Wind Energy Association (EWEA)
Jouko Putkonen
Wind Power Expert, Oy Merinova Ab
Anna Pyć
Vice President of Polish Trout Breeders Association
Aleksi Randell
Mayor of Turku
Ilkka Rytkölä
Portfolio Manager, Digitalisation, Wärtsilä
Angela Schultz-Zehden
Managing Director, SUBMARINER Network, BSR Flagship
Chris Shirling-Rooke
CEO Mersey Maritime, Maritime Knowledge Hub
Donné Slangen
Director Regional and Project Development, Ministry of Infrastructure and the Environment, The Netherlands
Monika Stankiewicz
Executive Secretary, HELCOM
Martin Stuchtey
Director, McKinsey Center for Business & Environment
Anita Teo
Research and Technology Manager, Rolls-Royce
Kimmo Tiilikainen
Minister of Agriculture and the Environment, Finland
Slawomir Tokarsi
Director of Innovation and Advanced Manufacturing, Directorate General Internal Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs (DG GROW), European Commission
Tiina Tuurnala
Deputy Director General, Finnish Transport Agency
Christine Valentin
Chief Operating Officer, World Ocean Council
Pedro Valverde
Manager at Cleaner Energy Group (EDP Inovação)
Karmenu Vella
Commissioner for Environment, Maritime Affairs and Fisheries

Schedule for Wednesday, 18th of May 2016