European Maritime Day

Service tools

Navigation path

European Maritime Day in Bremen 2014

European Maritime Day in Bremen 2014

European Maritime Day in Bremen 2014


European Maritime Day Conference 2014 was held on 19 & 20 May in Bremen and saw industry experts and policy makers from across Europe come together to discuss how innovation and research in the maritime economy can drive a European growth and jobs recovery whilst securing a sustainable future for Europe's seas.

The Conference and exhibitions took place in the Congress Center Bremen and Messe Bremen.

Speakers list 2014

Ms. Annika Annerby Jansson
President of CPMR
Ms Dilek Ayhan
State Secretary, Norwegian Ministry of Trade, Industry and Fisheries
Mr Uwe Beckmeyer
Parliamentary State Secretary, German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy
Mr Jens Böhrnsen
President of the Senate of the Free Hanseatic City of Bremen
Mr Philippe Brunet
Director, Directorate-General for Enterprise and Industry
Mr. Jean-Paul Cadoret
Director of the Biotechnologies & marine resources Unit, IFREMER
Ms Maria Damanaki
Commissioner for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, European Commission
Mr. Julien Denegre
Business development and technology valuation, TECHNIP Innovation & Technology Center
Mr Alexander Dobrindt
German Federal Minister for Transport and Digital Infrastructure
Mr. Sauli Eloranta
Executive Vice President, E&T, Rolls-Royce Marine
Lowri Evans
Director-General for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, European Commission
Karl Falkenberg
Director-General for the Environment, European Commission
Ms Sian George
CEO, Ocean Energy Europe
Ms Beate Gminder
Head of Unit, Directorate-General for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries, European Commission
Trustee of the Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation
Mr Matthias Groote
Member of the European Parliament
Mr Martin Günthner
Senator of Economic Affairs, Labour and Ports of the Free Hanseatic City of Bremen, Germany
Mr Stavros Hatzakos
General Manager of the Piraeus Port Authority
Hon José Herrera
Parliamentary Secretary for Competitiveness and Economic Growth, Malta
Dr. Broder Hinrichsen
Executive Vice President, Head of Research and Product Development
Paul Holthus
Founding CEO and President, World Ocean Council
Mr Michael Kingston
Lawyer, Marine Trade & Energy Group, DWF LLP, London. (United Kingdom and Ireland)
Mr. Holger Klindt
Director Civil Programmes, ATLAS Elektronik
Mr Verner Kristiansen
Moderator, development communication specialist
Dr Stephan Lechner
Director of the Institute for the Protection and Security of the Citizen, Joint Research Centre
Prof. Dr. Karin Lochte
CEO, Alfred Wegener Institute
Ms Gesine Meissner
Member of the European Parliament
Mr Lars Pålsson
Head of Group Security, Corporate Security Stena Line Group
Rear Admiral Panagiotis Petropoulos
Ministry of Shipping, Maritime Affairs and the Aegean, Greece
Prof. Fiona Regan
Associate Professor, Dublin City University
Mr. Tor E. Svensen
CEO of DNV GL Maritime
Mr Arjen Uytendaal
Managing Director of Nederland Maritiem Land
Mr Philippe Vallette
Director General, Nausicaa
Mr Kurt Vandenberghe
Director for Directorate Climate action and resource efficiency, Directorate-General for Research and Innovation, European Commission
Dr Simon Walmsley
Marine Manager WWF-International
Mr. Andreas Wellbrock
Member of the Executive Board BLG LOGISTCS GROUP AG & Co. KG