EU Science Hub

Nuclear energy

In the EU, the decision to use nuclear power or not is the prerogative of the Member States. Fourteen out of twenty-seven EU Member States have nuclear power plants in operation (Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Netherlands, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom). Today there are more than 140 power reactors in the European Union, producing more than 25% of all the EU electricity.

The nuclear industry contributes to EU energy objectives, such as:

  • achieving a viable and diverse energy mix,
  • limiting CO2 emissions,
  • maintaining security of energy supply and energy independence,
  • promoting economic development and employment.

The need for energy supply is growing in the world and it is expected that at EU level, nuclear power will remain a significant source of electricity generation over the next 20 years.

Safe operation of existing and future nuclear power plants is a key goal. To support this, the JRC performs research, scientific and technical activities on reactor safety and fuel safety.