EU Science Hub

Innovation and technology transfer: JRC launches European TTO Circle

TTO Circle logo European Technology Transfer Offices (TTO) Circle logo
Oct 20 2011

On 19 October the JRC and the Commissariat à l'Energie Atomique et aux Energies Alternatives (CEA) were the final signatories of a Memorandum of Understanding within the European TTO Circle, a network of the technology transfer offices of 21 of the largest public research organisations in Europe.

The signature marks the official launch of the European TTO Circle, an initiative of the JRC with the overall aim to strengthen Europe's ability to create innovative products and services for the market.

The European TTO Circle partnering organisations have agreed to join forces on technology transfer to boost innovation in Europe through a set of initiatives, including: sharing best practices, knowledge and expertise; performing joint activities; establishing informal channels of communication with policymakers; organising training programmes; and developing a common approach towards international standards for the professionalization of technology transfer.

The initial 20 partners of the JRC come from 13 countries and employ in total around 115,000 staff: CEA, INRIA (France); CNR, ENEA (Italy); Fraunhofer Society, Helmholtz Association (Germany); IMEC (Belgium); NCBiR (Poland); NERC representing the Research Councils UK (UK); RISE (Sweden); SINTEF (Norway); TECNALIA (Spain); TNO (The Netherlands); VTT (Finland); CERN, ESA, ESRF, ILL (European Union), ETH Board (Switzerland); TUBITAK (Turkey).