EU Science Hub

Counterfactual Methods for Policy Impact Evaluation (COMPIE) 2018 - call for papers

Sep 26 2018
Sep 28 2018

Call for papers "Counterfactual Methods for Policy Impact Evaluation 2018" (COMPIE 2018)

The European Commission, in collaboration with the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin and RWI - Leibniz Institute for Economic Research, is organising the Counterfactual Methods for Policy Impact Evaluation 2018 (COMPIE 2018) conference.

Keynote speakers: Joshua Angrist (MIT) and Jesse Rothstein (University of California, Berkeley).


The aim of the conference is to bring together policy makers and researchers to discuss developments in counterfactual methods and applications of impact evaluation. The latter can cover a broad range of interventions, from labor and social policy to regulation and funding programmes, ideally with a focus on EU policies.

Important dates

  • Paper submissions: from March 1 to April 30, 2018. Click here to check the status of your paper
  • Acceptance decision: July 1, 2018. For authors of accepted papers: Register by August 1, 2018 to confirm your partecipation
  • Registration (no fees): July 1 to September 15, 2018. Click here
  • Final program: September 1, 2018

Authors may be asked to present their paper in the poster sessions.


The conference will consist of plenary, contributed and poster sessions. Plenary sessions will host two keynote speakers; the contributed sessions and the poster sessions will include contributed papers submitted through the call for papers.
The conference will start on September 26, 2018 at 1pm and will end on September 28, 2018 at 3.30pm.


Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, School of Business and Economics Spandauer Straße 1, D-10178 Berlin


There is no hotel special fare for conference participants. Conference participants should book their accommodation directly.

Programme Committee

Sascha Becker, University of Warwick
Massimiliano Bratti, University of Milan
Alex Bryson, UCL London
Marco Caliendo, Potsdam University
Lorenzo Cappellari, Catholic University, Milan
Bart Cockx, Ghent University
Maurizio Conti, University of Genova
Oliver Falck, CESifo
Markus Froelich, University of Mannheim
Guido de Blasio, Bank of Italy
Jochen Kluve (Co Chair), Humboldt University, Berlin
Michael Lechner, University of St. Gallen
Claudio Lucifora, Catholic University, Milan
Hessel Oosterbeek, University of Amsterdam
Paolo Paruolo (Chair), EC Joint Reasearch Centre
Paolo Pinotti, Bocconi University, Milan
Chiara Pronzato, University of Turin
Enrico Rettore, University of Trento
Michael Rosholm, University of Aarhus
Sylke Schnepf, EC Joint Reasearch Centre
Tommaso Valletti, Imperial College and EC DG Competition
Jan van-Ours, Erasmus University Rotterdam

JRC wide hidden block