EU Science Hub

Proficiency levels

DigCompEdu progression

DigCompEdu distinguishes six stages or levels along which educators' digital competence typically develops. For each stage a role descriptor is provided which reflects the particular focus of digital technology use typical for the competence stage. These role descriptors also relate to an educator's relative strengths and roles within a professional community.

For each of the 22 competences, level descriptors and proficiency statements are provided that allow educators to understand their level of competence and their specific development needs.

Area 1: Professional Engagement


Area 2: Digital Resources


Area 3: Teaching and Learning


Area 4: Assessment


Area 5: Empowering Learners


Area 6: Facilitating Learners' Digital Competence