EU Science Hub


The JRC is a Directorate-General of the European Commission under the responsibility of Mariya Gabriel, Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth.

The JRC also supports Maroš Šefčovič, Vice President responsible for Interinstitutional Relations and Foresight regarding efforts to strengthen a culture of evidence-based policymaking.

Stephen Quest is appointed Director-General, responsible for the overall strategic direction and management of the JRC.

Its Board of Governors assists and advises the Director-General on matters relating to the role and the scientific, technical and financial management of the JRC.

The JRC is spread across six sites in five different countries within the EU.

Leadership and JRC organisational chart.


The JRC employs over 3000 people, from EU countries and candidate countries to EU membership, who bring their skills, talents, passion and rigour into the scientific activities meant to underpin EU policies.

We are frequently adding profiles to the people section of the Science Hub. Should you not find someone in this section, please consult the European Commission Directory.


The JRC is funded by the EU's framework programme for research and innovation, Horizon 2020, for its non-nuclear work and by the EURATOM Research and Training Programme for its nuclear work.

The JRC budget amounts to approx. €330 million annually for direct support to EU institutions through scientific and technical advice to policy.

Further income is generated by the JRC through performing additional work for Commission services, and contract work for third parties such as regional authorities or industry.

This work complements the tasks outlined in the JRC’s Work Programme 2014-2015 and is an essential tool for acquiring and transferring knowledge and expertise.

The latest figures regarding budget and resources are available in the JRC annual report.