Organisation

The JRC-IET has organised its competences around seven scientific units which group a range of competences relevant to the following specific issues of energy and nuclear safety technologies: energy conversion and storage, energy security, innovative technologies for nuclear reactor safety, nuclear reactor safety assessment, energy technology policy outlook, renewables & energy efficiency and sustainable transport.

In addition to the scientific units, the Institute has a support unit:

  • Site Management (SM) which pools resources, tools and competences required across the Institute for the execution of projects. Internal support services performed by the Unit include workshop and document management and security, safety and infrastructure.

and uses two horizontal services of the JRC:

  • Resource Management Petten which is a part of JRC Directorate B and provides support to the management including finances, personnel, and ICT support
  • Communication unit which belongs to JRC Directorate A

 

 

Giovanni De Santi
Giovanni De Santi Link to the CV

Director

 

Tel. +31-224-56 5401
E-mail: giovanni.de-santi@ec.europa.eu

 

 

Units

Resource Management Petten

Josephina Pijls
Josephina Pijls

Head of Unit

 

Tel. +31-224-56 5332
E-mail: josephina.pijls@ec.europa.eu

 

 

Site Management

Marc Steen
Marc Steen

Head of Unit f.f.

 

Tel. +31-224-56 5271
E-mail: marc.steen@ec.europa.eu

 

 

Energy Conversion and Storage Technologies

Marc Steen
Marc Steen

Head of Unit

 

Tel. +31-224-56 5271
E-mail: marc.steen@ec.europa.eu

 

 

Energy Security, Systems and Market

Marcelo Masera
Marcelo Masera Link to the CV

Head of Unit

 

Tel. +31-224-56 5403
E-mail: marcelo.masera@ec.europa.eu

 

 

Innovative Technologies for Nuclear Reactor Safety

Peter Haehner
Peter Haehner

Head of Unit

 

Tel. +31-224-56 5217
E-mail: peter.haehner@ec.europa.eu

 

 

Nuclear Reactor Safety Assessment

Brian Farrar
Brian Farrar

Head of Unit f.f.

 

Tel. +31-224-56 5063
E-mail: brian.farrar@ec.europa.eu

 

 

Energy Technology Policy Outlook

Efstathios Peteves
Efstathios Peteves Link to the CV

Head of Unit

 

Tel. +31-224-56 5245
E-mail: estathios.peteves@ec.europa.eu

 

 

Renewables and Energy Efficiency

Heinz Ossenbrink
Heinz Ossenbrink

Head of Unit

 

Tel. +39-0332-78 9196
E-mail:  heinz.ossenbrink@ec.europa.eu

 

 

Sustainable Transport

Alois Krasenbrink
Alois Krasenbrink

Head of Unit

 

Tel. +39-0332-78 5474
E-mail: alois.krasenbrink@ec.europa.eu