International Cooperation and Development

Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2020

Share on

The Prize at a glance

Thank you for your interest in the #NataliPrize ! Applications are now closed. Winners will be announced in the coming months.

Applications were open between 10 February and 22 March 2020 23:59 CET.

The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize was launched in 1992 to recognise and celebrate excellence in reporting on sustainable development issues. The Prize also gives a voice to those whose vital message is often overlooked or ignored. It was created by DG DEVCO, and named after Lorenzo Natali, a precursor of European development policy.

Applications are open between 10 February and 15 March 2020 23:59 CET. Apply via our online form.

If you have any questions, please contact the Secretariat of the Prize at 

Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2020

Who is Lorenzo Natali?

Established 28 years ago by the European Commission, the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is awarded in memory of Lorenzo Natali, a former Commissioner for Development and staunch defender of freedom of expression, democracy, human rights and development. He served three terms as one of Italy’s European Commissioners.

Natali played an important role in the EU accession process of Greece, Spain and Portugal. He also helped enact key measures to combat pollution and improve living conditions across Europe. In his final four-year term as Commissioner, from 1985 until 1989, he was handed responsibility for cooperation and development policy in the Commission under President Jacques Delors. It was in this capacity that he set up a broad network of relations with the governments and leaders of African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries.


The Theme

The overarching theme of the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is journalism for sustainable development. Entries to this year’s competition should relate to international partnership issues such as, but not limited to, fighting poverty and inequalities, human rights, democracy, youth, gender equality, environment and climate change, health, technology and digital, etc.

Categories and Prize

The applicants must choose one of these categories when filling in the application form. The Prize is open to journalists in the following three categories:

1. Grand Prize: reporting published by a media based in one of the European Union’s partner countries on development and cooperation. 

2. Europe Prize: reporting published by a media based in the European Union*.

3. Best Emerging Journalist Prize: open to journalists under 30 whose reporting was published by a media based in the European Union* or in one of its partner countries on development and cooperation.

*For the 2020 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize, entries published in a UK-based outlet are eligible if published between 10 March 2019 and 31 January 2020.

Applications in English

Candidatures en français

Candidaturas en español