EGE Members

The 15 high-calibre members were appointed by Jean-Claude Juncker, President of the European Commission, and Carlos Moedas, Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation following the renewal of the EGE's legal mandate and the publication of the Call for Expression of Interest in 2016

Christiane Woopen


Professor for Ethics and Theory of Medicine at the University of Cologne. Executive Director of the Cologne Center for Ethics, Rights, Economics, and Social Sciences of Health, member of the UNESCO International Bioethics Committee and former chair of the German Ethics Council

Herman Nys

Deputy Chair

Emeritus Professor in medical law at KU Leuven, editor-in-chief of the European Journal of Health Law and editor of the International Encyclopaedia of Medical Law. Member of the former EGE since 2011

Siobhán O'Sullivan

Deputy Chair

Lecturer in Health Care Ethics and Law, Royal College of Surgeons, and former Chief Bioethics Officer, Ministry of Health, Ireland. Member of the former EGE since 2011

Emmanuel Agius

Professor of philosophical and theological ethics at the University of Malta, the Dean of the Faculty of Theology and member of the EGE since 2005

Anne Cambon-Thomsen

Emeritus Research Director in CNRS (French national centre for scientific research), member of a joint research Unit on epidemiology and public health at Inserm (National Institute for Health and Medical Research) and University Toulouse III Paul Sabatier

Ana Sofia Carvalho

Professor of Bioethics and Director of the Institute of Bioethics, Catholic University of Portugal, and Chair of the Portuguese UNESCO Chair in Bioethics (2014-2017)

Eugenijus Gefenas

Professor and Director of the Department of Medical History and Ethics at the Medical Faculty of Vilnius University; Director of the Lithuanian Bioethics Committee

Julian Kinderlerer

Emeritus Professor of Intellectual Property Law at the University of Cape Town; elected President of the former EGE (2011 – 2016)

Andreas Kurtz

Biologist, Berlin-Brandenburg Center for Regenerative Therapies, Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin; Head of the human pluripotent stem cell registry (since 2006)

Jonathan Montgomery

Professor of Health Care Law at University College London; Chair of the Health Research Authority in England; Chair Nuffield Council on Bioethics (2012-2017)

Laura Palazzani

Professor of Philosophy of law and biolaw, Lumsa University in Rome, member of the UNESCO International Bioethics Committee, Vicechair of the Italian Committee for Bioethics and member of the former EGE since 2011

Barbara Prainsack

Professor at the Department of Global Health & Social Medicine at King's College London

Carlos Maria Romeo Casabona

Professor of Criminal Law; Director, Chair in Law and the Human Genome, University of the Basque Country. Member, Committee of Bioethics of Spain

Nils-Eric Sahlin

Professor of Medical Ethics, Lund University; member of The Royal Swedish Academy of Letters, History and Antiquities, Chairman of The Swedish Research Council's Expert Group on Ethics

Marcel Jeroen Van den Hoven

Professor of Ethics and Technology at the Delft University of Technology; founding Editor in Chief of Ethics and Information Technology