At an award ceremony in Brussels, Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation Carlos Moedas and MEP Eva Kaili announced the four winners of the 2018 EU Prize for Women Innovators, funded under Horizon 2020, the EU research and innovation programme.

Read the News Alert with the full list of Winners.

What is the EU Prize for Women Innovators?

This is a cash prize awarded every year to European women who founded a successful company and brought an innovation to market.

Why is there a prize?

Although there are now many more women in research, innovation and business, there are still too few women creating innovative enterprises.

Europe needs to address the gender gap and recognise European women who are at the forefront of innovation and entrepreneurship.

This will help Europe stay competitive and find solutions to societal challenges.  

Prize value

  • 1st Prize: €100,000
  • 2nd Prize: €50,000
  • 3rd Prize: €30,000
  • Rising Innovator (30 or younger): €20,000

The award also recognises a number of finalists specially acknowledged for their outstanding record as women entrepreneurs and inventors.

Who can apply?

The contest is open to women from across the EU (or countries associated to Horizon 2020) who have

  • founded a successful company and brought innovation to market
  • benefitted from research and innovation funding from the public or private sector

Award criteria

  • the originality and marketability of the developed product or service provided by the company of the contestant

  • the economic impact of a product or service for Europe

  • the societal impact of a product or service for Europe

  • the leadership role of the contestant

Applications are judged by a panel of independent experts from across Europe.

How to apply

Participants can apply for the contest online. The full details are explained in the following documents.


For more information email


  • 5 September 2017

    Contest opens.

  • 15 November 2017

    Deadline for applications.

  • 8 March 2018

    12 finalists announced.

  • 21 June 2018

    Winners announced.


Thu 21 June

Award ceremony

Politico Europe, Les Ateliers des Tanneurs, Rue des Tanneurs 60A, 1000 Brussels

The winners of the EU Prize for Women Innovators 2018 will be announced by Commissioner Moedas on 21 June at POLITICO's Women Rule Summit, in Brussels.

The ceremony will take place among other debates to discuss how women are championing important issues on the political and policy agenda, and driving business growth and societal change.

2018 finalists and winners

On International Women's day 8th March, Commissioner Moedas unveiled the names of the 12 women entrepreneurs shortlisted for the  2018 prize.

Past competitions

EU Prize for Women Innovators 2017

EU Prize for Women Innovators 2017

Biographies of winners and finalists of the 2017 competition and award ceremony details.

EU Prize for Women Innovators 2016

EU Prize for Women Innovators 2016

Biographies of the winners for the 2016 competition and details of the award ceremony.

EU Prize for Women Innovators 2014 and 2011

EU Prize for Women Innovators 2014 and 2011

Biographies of the winners of the 2014 and 2011 competitions.