Mission areas

The 5 mission areas are

The exact missions will be decided by the mission boards.

Chairs of the mission boards

Connie Hedegaard

Adaptation to Climate Change including Societal Transformation

Picture of Claudia Gärtner

Served as European Commissioner for Climate Action from 2010 to 2014, during which time she led the negotiations towards the adoption of the EU 2030 Climate and Energy Framework and represented the EU in the international climate negotiations.

Read the biography

Walter Ricciardi


Picture of Harald zur HausenIn October 2019 Professor Ricciardi replaced the originally named chair, Professor Harald zur Hausen.

Read the biography

Pascal Lamy

Healthy Oceans, Seas, Coastal and inland Waters

Picture of Pascal Lamy

Former European Commissioner for Trade and Director General of the World Trade Organisation from 2005-2013.

Read the biography

Hanna Gronkiewicz-Waltz

Climate-Neutral and Smart Cities

Picture of Hanna Gronkiewicz-Waltz

Former chair of the Central Bank of Poland,also served as Mayor of Warsaw.

Read the biography

Cees Veerman

Soil health and Food

Picture of Cees Veerman

Dutch Minister of Agriculture from 2002 to 2007 and was also President of the EU Council of Agriculture Ministers.

Read the biography