First published on
09 June 2020

The first meeting of the Withdrawal Agreement Specialised Committee on the Sovereign Base Areas was held today, co-chaired by officials from the European Commission and the UK Government. The Committee was established by the Withdrawal Agreement to facilitate the implementation and application of the Protocol. 

The UK and the EU reaffirmed their commitment to continued progress in implementing the measures outlined in the Protocol, which shall apply at the end of the Transition Period.  

The co-chairs agreed that the Committee will meet again as necessary to facilitate the implementation of the Protocol. 

Related information