Eastern partnership

This joint initiative between the European Union and its 6 eastern neighbours Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine aims to deepen and strengthen relations.

Southern neighbourhood

EU cooperation with 10 southern neighbours: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine*, Syria and Tunisia.

Cooperation with countries along the EU's external borders

Cross-border cooperation supports sustainable development along land borders or sea crossings that are shared between an EU country and non‑EU neighbour.

Neighbourhood-wide cooperation

Some cooperation programmes are undertaken with all European neighbourhood partner countries as a group rather than bilaterally or regionally.


  • stabilising neighbouring countries through economic development, employability and youth, transport and energy connectivity, migration, mobility and security
  • promoting key EU interests of good governance, democracy, rule of law and human rights
  • facilitating cooperation at regional level: Eastern Partnership, Union for the Mediterranean


The European neighbourhood policy offers a framework for more effective and stronger partnerships with the EU's eastern and southern neighbours, based on common interests and action on both sides. 

The EU promotes stability and fosters cooperation with the countries concerned by providing financial support through the European Neighbourhood Instrument.


  • Review of the European neighbourhood policy
    Communication18 November 2015

    Review of the European neighbourhood policy

    A review of the ENP, proposed by President Juncker and requested by EU member countries in order to examine how the EU and its neighbours can build more effective partnerships.