List of Participating Countries in Horizon Europe

Third countries associated to Horizon Europe

Association to Horizon Europe is governed by the Horizon Europe Regulation 2021/695¹. Legal entities from Associated Countries can participate under equivalent conditions as legal entities from the EU Member States, unless specific limitations or conditions are laid down in the work programme and/or call/topic text. Such measures could include the limitation of participation in certain actions to legal entities established in the EU alone, or in the EU and specified non-EU countries, in order to safeguard the EU's strategic assets, interests, autonomy or security. Limitations or conditions may also be attached to the participation of legal entities established in an eligible country but which are controlled directly or indirectly by an ineligible country². The eligibility will be clearly defined in the work programme. There could also be criteria on the place of establishment of the legal entity to take into account specific policy requirements or the nature and objectives of the action³.

All sixteen non-EU countries associated to the previous programme, Horizon 2020, have also expressed interest to become associated to Horizon Europe. Other third countries have also expressed an interest in association.

The association agreements with the following countries have now started to produce legal effects (either through provisional application or their entry into force):

- 1. Iceland
- 2. Norway

Until association agreements start producing legal effects either through provisional application or their entry into force, the transitional arrangement set out in the General Annexes to the Horizon Europe Work Programme 2021-2022 is applicable (for the entire Programme, including ERC, EIC, EIT and the institutionalised European partnerships⁴) with regard to the following countries and legal entities established in these countries, with which association negotiations are being processed or where association is imminent (*listed in the alphabetical order*):

- 1. Albania
- 2. Armenia
- 3. Bosnia and Herzegovina
- 4. Faroe Islands
- 5. Georgia
- 6. Israel
- 7. Kosovo⁵
- 8. Moldova

Regulation (EU) 2021/695 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 28 April 2021 establishing Horizon Europe – the Framework Programme for Research and Innovation, laying down its rules for participation and dissemination, and repealing Regulations (EU) No 1290/2013 and (EU) No 1291/2013 (OJ 12.5.2021 L 170/1).

² Based on Horizon Europe Regulation article 22(5).

³ Based on Horizon Europe Regulation article 22(6).

⁴ Subject to the adoption of the basic acts.

⁵ This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/1999 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

- 9. Montenegro
- 10. Morocco
- 11. North Macedonia
- 12. Serbia
- 13. Tunisia
- 14. Turkey
- 15. Ukraine
- 16. United Kingdom⁶

Legal entities established in Switzerland are currently not covered by the transitional arrangement.

Liechtenstein does not intend to associate to Horizon Europe.

This list will be updated to reflect the status of the negotiations for association.

For the Euratom Research and Training Programme (Council Regulation (Euratom) 2021/765), Ukraine and United Kingdom are expected to become associated. The transitional arrangement described above applies to legal entities established in these countries.

Other third countries

Most Horizon Europe calls are also open to participants from non-associated countries and international organisations, unless specific limitations or conditions are laid down in the work programme and/or the call/topic text, such as those highlighted for associated countries above.

Moreover, some Horizon Europe calls are particularly relevant for international cooperation, encouraging or even requiring the participation of legal entities from non-associated non-EU countries in the funded actions.

Participants from non-associated non-EU countries can take part in Horizon Europe actions — but not always with funding.

Participants from the following low- to middle-income countries are **automatically eligible** for funding:

- Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Argentina, Azerbaijan
- Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi
- Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Colombia, Comoros, Congo (Democratic Republic), Congo (Republic), Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba
- Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic
- Ecuador, Egypt (Arab Republic), El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia
- Fiji

- Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana

The UK will participate in all parts of the Horizon Europe programme with the only exception of the EIC Fund (which is part of the EIC Accelerator of Horizon Europe that provides investment through equity or other repayable form).

- Haiti, Honduras
- Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic), Iraq
- Jamaica, Jordan
- Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (Democratic People's Republic), Kyrgyz
 Republic
- Lao (People's Democratic Republic), Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya
- Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania,
 Micronesia (Federated States), Mongolia, Mozambique, Myanmar
- Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria
- Pakistan, Palestine⁷, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines
- Rwanda
- Samoa, São Tomé and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic
- Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu
- Uganda, Uzbekistan
- Vanuatu, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic), Vietnam
- Yemen Republic
- Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Participants from other countries (i.e. countries that are neither EU Member States nor countries associated to Horizon Europe, nor countries listed above) are not automatically eligible for funding and therefore usually have to participate at their own cost. They can however receive **exceptional funding**, if:

- their country is explicitly identified in the work programme and call for proposals as being eligible for funding
- the granting authority considers that their participation as a beneficiary is essential for implementing the project, for example in view of their:
 - outstanding competence/expertise
 - access to particular research infrastructures
 - access to particular geographical environments
 - access to particular data).

Please note that entities subject to <u>EU restrictive measures</u> under Article 29 of the Treaty on the European Union (TEU) and Article 215 of the Treaty on the Functioning of the EU (TFEU)⁸ and entities covered by Commission Guidelines No <u>2013/C 205/05</u>⁹ are NOT eligible to participate in any capacity in Horizon Europe actions (including as beneficiaries, affiliated entities, associated partners, third parties giving in-kind contributions, subcontractors or recipients of financial support to third parties, if any).

⁷ This designation is not be construed as recognition of a State of Palestine and is without prejudice to the individual positions of the Member States on this issue

Please note that the EU Official Journal contains the official list and, in case of conflict, its content prevails over that of the EU Sanctions Map.

Commission guidelines No 2013/C 205/05 on the eligibility of Israeli entities and their activities in the territories occupied by Israel since June 1967 for grants, prizes and financial instruments funded by the EU from 2014 onwards (OJEU C 205 of 19.07.2013, pp. 9-11).